17 NBA Teams Will Participate in Newly Formed NBA 2K Esports League

Andrew Gould@AndrewGould4Featured ColumnistMay 4, 2017

The NBA 2K esports league announced today that 17 #NBA teams will participate in its inaugural season, set to debut in 2018! https://t.co/OWZtnuLwuz

The NBA announced that 17 teams will participate in the NBA 2K esports league's inaugural season.

In February, the NBA and Take-Two Interactive revealed their partnership to form a virtual sports league owned by actual NBA franchises. As explained by ESPN.com's Zach Lowe, each team will field a five-person squad playing out a full regular-season schedule and postseason bracket. Rather than using real NBA stars, participants will design on-screen avatars.

“This is the first step in what promises to be an extraordinary league, bringing together the world's best gamers and showcasing elite competition on an international stage,” NBA 2K esports league Managing Director Brendan Donohue said in the NBA's official press release.

When announcing the eLeague's formation, per Lowe, Commissioner Adam Silver said he hoped at least half of the NBA's franchises would field a team when it debuts in 2018. He met this goal, with the Cleveland Cavaliers and Golden State Warriors headlining 17 of the Association's 30 teams set to compete.

Per the press release, more details on participants and league structure will follow.


slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!