Indy 500 2016: Starting Grid, TV Schedule, Lineup, Odds and Pre-Race Storylines

Joe Pantorno@@JoePantornoFeatured ColumnistMay 29, 2016

Scott Dixon, of New Zealand, drives through turn one during the final practice session for the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Friday, May 27, 2016. (AP Photo/Michael Conroy)
Michael Conroy/Associated Press

The United States' most famous IndyCar race will experience its 100th running with the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday from Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 

With 33 drivers in the field, a win on Sunday earns the victor an opportunity to kiss the hallowed bricks and drink what is probably the most satisfying jug of milk ever tasted. 

Here is the viewing information for racing fans who won't be in Indiana on Sunday:

Indianapolis 500 Viewing Information
DateTime (ET)TVLive Stream
Sunday, May 2912 p.m.ABCWatchESPN

This is what the starting grid looks like and what the odds are for some of the race's favorites, per Odds Shark:

Indianapolis 500 Starting Grid, Odds
11James Hinchcliffe+1,000
12Josef Newgarden+1,000
13Ryan Hunter-Reay+1,400
24Townsend Bell+1,800
25Carlos Munoz+2,000
26Will Power+650
37Mikhail Aleshin+5,000
38Simon Pagenaud+650
39Helio Castroneves+750
410Oriol Servia+4,000
411Alexander Rossi+6,600
412Takuma Sato+3,300
513Scott Dixon+700
514Marco Andretti+2,000
515JR Hildebrand+3,300
616Charlie Kimball+5,000
617Juan Pablo Montoya+650
618Tony Kanaan+1,000
719Sebastien Bourdais+2,000
720Ed Carpenter+3,300
721Gabby Chaves+12,500
822Max Chilton+6,600
823Sage Karam+6,600
824Conor Daly+5,000
925Pippa Mann+15,000
926Graham Rahal+2,500
927Matt Brabham+15,000
1028Bryan Clauson+12,500
1029Spencer Pigot+15,000
1030Stefan Wilson+12,500
1131Jack Hawksworth+12,500
1132Buddy Lazier+15,000
1133Alex Tagliani+7,500
Odds courtesy of OddsShark.com

Two-time winner and last year's victor, Juan Pablo Montoya, will have some work to do to start this edition of the Indy 500 considering he'll be starting in Row 6 after qualifying 17th thanks to a run-in with a trash bag.

Given last year's performance, though, there's a reason why he's one of the favorites.

Montoya spoke with Joseph Wolkin of Frontstretch.com about how he's approaching this year's race.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

"To me, it’s like any other race," Montoya said. "You take it as it comes, and you hope to have very good results. Yes, it’s the Indy 500 and it’s the biggest race of the year, but this one is worth just as much as last year. We’ll do whatever we can to win it."

The race's co-favorites, Will Power and Simon Pagenaud, will be starting from more favorable positions. Power will be in Row 2, while Pagenaud will be in No. 3. Neither has won an Indy 500. 

In fact, only one driver in the first two rows has won an Indy 500, which was Ryan Hunter-Reay in 2014.

Next to Pagenaud in the third row is a driver on the verge of history. If Helio Castroneves is able to kiss the bricks in 2016, it will be his fourth Indy 500 win, which would put him with A.J. Foyt, Al Unser and Rick Mears as the only drivers to win the race four times. 

Whether a racing fan is pulling for a fresh face or a seasoned veteran, the excitement of the Indianapolis 500 will ensure that this will be the biggest race of the year.

Stats courtesy of IndianapolisMotorSpeedway.com.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!