Indy 500 Qualifying Results 2016: Final Times from Saturday's Races

Mike Chiari@mikechiariFeatured ColumnistMay 22, 2016

Scott Dixon, of New Zealand, drives through the first turn in front of Helio Castroneves, of Brazil, and Ryan Hunter-Reay during a practice session for the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Thursday, May 19, 2016. (AP Photo/Michael Conroy)
Michael Conroy/Associated Press

After one day of qualifying for the 100th Indianapolis 500, James Hinchcliffe leads the way and will be one of nine drivers vying for the pole Sunday.  

Saturday's session determined the Fast Nine, who will all have a chance to compete for the pole, while the rest of the field will qualify again Sunday to determine spots 10 through 33. Here is a rundown of how every driver fared on Day 1:

Indianapolis 500 Day 1 Qualifying Speeds
PositionDriverAverage Speed (MPH)
1James Hinchcliffe230.946
2Ryan Hunter-Reay230.805
3Will Power230.736
4Helio Castroneves230.500
5Townsend Bell230.452
6Josef Newgarden230.229
7Mikhail Aleshin230.209
8Carlos Munoz230.173
9Simon Pagenaud230.102
10Alexander Rossi230.048
11Marco Andretti230.037
12Juan Pablo Montoya229.745
13Scott Dixon229.497
14Ed Carpenter229.429
15JR Hildebrand229.075
16Takuma Sato228.096
17Conor Daly227.862
18Sage Karam227.821
19Tony Kanaan227.679
20Sebastien Bourdais227.442
21Graham Rahal227.437
22Bryan Clauson227.110
23Spencer Pigot227.100
24Oriol Servia226.893
25Charlie Kimball226.549
26Matt Brabham226.390
27Stefan Wilson225.560
28Jack Hawksworth225.388
29Alex Tagliani224.507
30Buddy Lazier224.341
31Gabby ChavesDNP
32Pippa MannDNP
33Max ChiltonDNP

Several big-name drivers secured a spot in the top nine, but Hinchcliffe's impressive run was enough to put him in the catbird seat entering Sunday.

According to Nick DeGroot of, Hinchcliffe took the top spot by setting a blistering pace on three of his four laps:

The Canadian star pulled off the feat one year after a devastating crash during Indy 500 practice forced him to miss the remainder of the 2015 season.

NASCAR driver A.J. Allmendinger was among those who applauded Hinchcliffe for his efforts:

Hinchcliffe beat out a pair of former Indianapolis 500 winners in Ryan Hunter-Reay and Helio Castroneves, as well as former points champion Will Power.

Townsend Bell was in first after the initial qualifying run-through but ultimately had to settle for fifth.

Despite his excellent speed, the 41-year-old veteran wasn't entirely pleased with his performance, according to IndyCar on NBCSN:

The same can be said for a number of high-profile drivers who fell short of making it into the Fast Nine.

Former Indy 500 winners Juan Pablo Montoya, Scott Dixon and Tony Kanaan all missed out, as did perennial contender Marco Andretti.

Per Zak Keefer of the Indianapolis Star, Andretti was especially upset with how his first qualifying run played out:

Since only 33 drivers were competing for 33 positions, everyone qualified for the race, including the three drivers who did not complete their qualifying runs.

Max Chilton was among those who did not attempt to qualify due to a crash during practice. As seen in this video courtesy of the Indianapolis Star's Clark Wade, his car was in shambles following the incident:

Pippa Mann was also involved in a wreck, although her malfunction occurred during a qualifying run. IndyCar Series on Twitter provided a look at the miscue:

The start of qualifying was delayed due to inclement weather, and Dave Griffiths of Fox59 in Indianapolis believed the conditions played a role in Mann's crash:

Mann commented on the situation following her qualifying attempt and seemed optimistic that she and her team would bounce back, per Rob Peeters of the Indianapolis Star:

Gabby Chaves also failed to post a time because he waived his final qualifying attempt in order to allow others to take additional runs.

The Fast Nine ensured they will start in the first three rows of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing, but their times from Saturday will be wiped out Sunday. That means Hinchcliffe could conceivably start ninth despite finishing first on Day 1.

While Saturday's results matter in terms of determining who has a lot of speed entering the Indy 500, it doesn't guarantee success in the race.

In fact, no Fast Nine driver has won the Indianapolis 500 since Dan Wheldon pulled off the feat in 2011.

That means stars such as Montoya, Dixon, Kanaan and Andretti don't need to panic just because they didn't enjoy ideal runs Saturday.

Even so, Hinchcliffe and the rest of the Fast Nine drive fantastic cars, and having the chance to chase the pole should give them a great deal of confidence entering the Indy 500.

Follow @MikeChiari on Twitter.


    Re-Drafting 2002 NBA Class 📝

    Rockets pass on Yao Ming for another big man. Here are all the selections ⬇️

    Featured logo

    Re-Drafting 2002 NBA Class 📝

    Zach Buckley
    via Bleacher Report

    Landing-Spot Predictions for Top FAs 🔮

    Realistic teams for the best available players

    Featured logo

    Landing-Spot Predictions for Top FAs 🔮

    Kristopher Knox
    via Bleacher Report

    WrestleMania Winners and Losers

    B/R picks out who won and who lost in the action at WrestleMania 36 ➡️

    Featured logo

    WrestleMania Winners and Losers

    Kevin Berge
    via Bleacher Report

    Drew McIntyre Is WWE Champ 🏆

    McIntyre completes his storybook ending by defeating Brock Lesnar for his first-ever WWE Championship

    Featured logo

    Drew McIntyre Is WWE Champ 🏆

    Mike Chiari
    via Bleacher Report