Super Bowl 50 Golden Team Announced: Full Roster, Comments, Reaction

Adam Wells@adamwells1985Featured ColumnistJanuary 28, 2016

Hall of Famers Joe Montana, and Jerry Rice, right, talk during warm ups before the
Eric Risberg/Associated Press

In honor of the Super Bowl's 50th anniversary this year, the Pro Football Hall of Fame board of selectors has announced the 26 players and one head coach who will comprise the Super Bowl 50 Golden Team. 

According to the release from, the historical roster features 22 Pro Football Hall of Famers, including Joe Montana as the quarterback, Jerry Rice and Lynn Swann as the wide receivers and Lawrence Taylor at one of the two outside linebacker positions.

Super Bowl 50 Golden Team Roster
QuarterbackJoe Montana
Running BacksFranco Harris, Emmitt Smith
Wide ReceiversJerry Rice, Lynn Swann
Tight EndJay Novacek
Offensive TacklesArt Shell, Forrest Gregg
GuardsGene Upshaw, Larry Allen
CenterMike Webster
Defensive EndsReggie White, Charles Haley
Defensive LinemenJoe Greene, Randy White
Outside LinebackersLawrence Taylor, Jack Ham
Inside LinebackersJack Lambert, Ray Lewis
Defensive BacksMel Blount, Deion Sanders
SafetiesRonnie Lott, Jake Scott
KickerAdam Vinatieri
Kick Returner/Punt ReturnerDesmond Howard
PunterRay Guy
Head CoachChuck Noll

Following the roster's unveiling, Pro Football Hall of Fame executive vice president Joe Horrigan stated in the release what the names on the Super Bowl 50 Golden Team mean in the big picture of NFL history:

Each name conjures up memories of some of the sport's greatest games showcased on its biggest platform, the Super Bowl stage. Unforgettable individual performances like Lynn Swann's acrobatic catches in Super Bowl X or Joe Montana's come-from-behind game winning drive in Super Bowl XXIII are forever etched in the collective memories of football fans and celebrated as some of the most inspiring moments in the history of the National Football League.

Not surprisingly, since they have won more Super Bowls than any franchise in NFL history, the Pittsburgh Steelers are the most represented team on the list with seven players, including Swann, Franco Harris, Mel Blount, Joe Greene, Jack Ham, Jack Lambert, Mike Webster and head coach Chuck Noll. 

Even though names like Montana, Rice and Taylor may have seemed like no-brainers, the release notes that kicker Adam Vinatieri was the only unanimous selection, thanks in large part to his heroics in two of New England's three Super Bowl wins from 2001-04. 

Vinatieri is also the only active player to make the roster; it turns out kickers do get respect.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Given the vast number of legendary players who have appeared in and won Super Bowls, there was no way for everyone who deserved to be honored to make a special team. It's also hard to argue with any of the selections made by the Pro Football Hall of Fame for this particular historical showcase. 

It will be fun to see how much, if at all, these rosters change when the next Super Bowl team is announced presumably in 25 years before Super Bowl 75.