South Korea Added to 2010 Formula One Calendar

Stuart BairdCorrespondent ISeptember 21, 2009

Having signed the "F1 Act" this week, the South Korean government have secured a place on next years F1 calendar.

The Act, which was signed by both the ruling party, and the opposition, agrees to fund any shortfall in the budget for the construction of an FIA standard race track.

Finances so far have been privately funded, and it is believed that Herman Tilke will be responsible for designing the layout of the circuit.

This could lead to a 19 race season, for the first time since 2005.

The season may be cut to 18 races, if the deal to secure the return of the Canadian GP falls through.

A provisional calendar was leaked during the Belgium GP weekend, but has since been revised. The date of the South Korean Grand Prix, is scheduled for 17 October 2010.

For the first time since 1996, not including 2006, the Melbourne will not be the first Grand Prix of the season. Bahrain will be the season opener, on 14 March.

Formula One 2010 calendar
Mar 14 - Bahrain (Sakhir)
Mar 28 - Australia (Melbourne, starting at 1700 local time)
Apr 4 - Malaysia (Sepang, starting at 1600 local time)
Apr 18 - China (Shanghai)
May 9 - Spain (Barcelona)
May 23 - Monaco (Monte Carlo)
May 30 - Turkey (Istanbul)*
Jun 13 - Canada (Montreal, provisional)
Jun 27 - Europe (Valencia)
Jul 11 - Great Britain (Donington Park)
Jul 25 - Germany (Hockenheim)
Aug 1 - Hungary (Budapest)
Aug 29 - Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
Sep 12 - Italy (Monza)
Sep 26 - Singapore (starting at 2000 local time)
Oct 3 - Japan (Suzuka)
Oct 17 - South Korea (Yongam)
Oct 31 - Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina, starting at 1700 local time)
Nov 14 - Brazil (Interlagos)

 * If the deal to secure the Canadian GP falls through, the Turkish GP will be moved to June 6.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.