NFL Pro Bowl Roster 2014: Captains and List of Available Players to Be Drafted

Sean ODonnellContributor IIIDecember 28, 2013

HONOLULU, HI - JANUARY 27: Members of the National Football Conference line up for a kick against the American Football Conference team during the 2013 Pro Bowl at Aloha Stadium on January 27, 2013 in Honolulu, Hawaii  (Photo by Scott Cunningham/Getty Images)
Scott Cunningham/Getty Images

The 2014 Pro Bowl rosters were announced on Friday during a special on the NFL Network. Since the usual AFC-versus-NFC format will no longer be used and a draft-style approach will now take its place, team captains were named.

The captains for this year's Pro Bowl teams are Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders. They will rotate picks during the draft that will take place on the NFL Network at 8 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2014.

Just four days later, the Pro Bowl will take place from Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii at 7 p.m. ET on Jan. 26, airing live on NBC.

Both Rice and Sanders discussed their draft strategies on the NFL Network on Friday and gave some insight as to which players they want on their respective teams:

Available players who are eligible to be drafted for each Pro Bowl team are as follows:


Pro Bowl Roster - Offense
QBTom BradyNew England Patriots
QBDrew BreesNew Orleans Saints
QBPeyton ManningDenver Broncos
QBCam NewtonCarolina Panthers
QBPhilip RiversSan Diego Chargers
QBRussell WilsonSeattle Seahawks
WRAntonio BrownPittsburgh Steelers
WRDez BryantDallas Cowboys
WRJosh GordonCleveland Browns
WRA.J. GreenCincinnati Bengals
WRAndre JohnsonHouston Texans
WRCalvin JohnsonDetroit Lions
WRBrandon MarshallChicago Bears
WRDemaryius ThomasDenver Broncos
OTBranden AlbertKansas City Chiefs
OTJason PetersPhiladelphia Eagles
OTTyron SmithDallas Cowboys
OTJoe StaleySan Francisco 49ers
OTJoe ThomasCleveland Browns
OTTrent WilliamsWashington Redskins
OGJahri EvansNew Orleans Saints
OGBen GrubbsNew Orleans Saints
OGMike IupatiSan Francisco 49ers
OGLogan MankinsNew England Patriots
OGLouis VasquezDenver Broncos
OGMarshal YandaBaltimore Ravens
C Ryan KalilCarolina Panthers
CAlex MackCleveland Browns
C Mike PounceyMiami Dolphins
C Max UngerSeattle Seahawks
TE Jordan CameronCleveland Browns
TEVernon DavisSan Francisco 49ers
TEJimmy GrahamNew Orleans Saints
TEJulius ThomasDenver Broncos
RBJamaal CharlesKansas City Chiefs
RBMatt ForteChicago Bears
RBFrank GoreSan Francisco 49ers
RBMarshawn LynchSeattle Seahawks
RBLeSean McCoyPhiladelphia Eagles
RBAdrian PetersonMinnesota Vikings
FBMarcel ReeceOakland Raiders
FBMike TolbertCarolina Panthers


Pro Bowl Roster - Defense
DEGreg HardyCarolina Panthers
DECameron JordanNew Orleans Saints
DERobert QuinnSt. Louis Rams
DECameron WakeMiami Dolphins
DEJ.J. WattHouston Texans
DEMario WilliamsBuffalo Bills
DTGerald McCoyTampa Bay Buccaneers
DTHaloti NgataBaltimore Ravens
DTDontari PoeKansas City Chiefs
DTJustin SmithSan Francisco 49ers
DT Ndamukong SuhDetroit Lions
DT Kyle WilliamsBuffalo Bills
OLB John AbrahamArizona Cardinals
OLBAhmad BrooksSan Francisco 49ers
OLBTamba HaliKansas City Chiefs
OLBJustin HoustonKansas City Chiefs
OLBRobert MathisIndianapolis Colts
OLBTerrell SuggsBaltimore Ravens
MLBNaVorro BowmanSan Francisco 49ers
MLBVontaze BurfictCincinnati Bengals
MLBLuke KuechlyCarolina Panthers
MLBPatrick WillisSan Francisco 49ers
CBBrandon FlowersKansas City Chiefs
CBBrent GrimesMiami Dolphins
CBJoe HadenCleveland Browns
CBPatrick PetersonArizona Cardinals
CBDarrelle RevisTampa Bay Buccaneers
CBRichard ShermanSeattle Seahawks
CBAqib TalibNew England Patriots
CB Alterraun VernerTennessee Titans
FSJairus ByrdBuffalo Bills
FSEarl ThomasSeattle Seahawks
FSEric WeddleSan Diego Chargers
SSEric BerryKansas City Chiefs
SS Kam ChancellorSeattle Seahawks
SSTroy PolamaluPittsburgh Steelers

Special Teams:

Pro Bowl Roster - Special Teams
PBrandon FieldsMiami Dolphins
PJohnny HekkerSt. Louis Rams
KMatt PraterDenver Broncos
KJustin TuckerBaltimore Ravens
PRAntonio BrownPittsburgh Steelers
PRDexter McClusterKansas City Chiefs
ST Justin BethelArizona Cardinals
ST Matthew SlaterNew England Patriots

Rice and Sanders will each have an even number of players from each position at the end of the draft—that part obviously hasn't changed.

However, the new Pro Bowl draft format has brought about some different feelings from players around the league.

San Francisco 49ers senior reporter Taylor Price issued a tweet containing a comment from linebacker Patrick Willis regarding his distaste for the new style:

Other players, such as Chicago Bears linebacker Lance Briggs, are simply happy for their teammates who got the nod to play. Briggs tweeted:

There were also many Pro Bowl snubs—as there are every year—and Jason La Canfora of CBS Sports made one simple point:

Certain draft strategies must be in place due to several new rules that will be enforced during this year's contest. For example, there will be no kickoffs, each quarter will yield a two-minute warning and a change of possession after, and the game clock can stop under two minutes after a play that does not gain yardage.


Official rule changes for the Pro Bowl can be found on NFL.com.

With many of these new rules favoring the offensive side of the ball, it can be easily assumed that the 2014 Pro Bowl will continue to yield plenty of points.

No matter the outcome, the players that made the Pro Bowl this year will be rewarded, according to a tweet from ESPN's Adam Schefter:

For now, it's up to Sanders and Rice to draft the best possible teams. It will certainly be interesting to see how this all plays out.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.