Pure Michigan 400 2013 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Donald Wood@@Donald_WoodFeatured ColumnistAugust 18, 2013

BROOKLYN, MI - AUGUST 18:  Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Shell-Pennzoil Ford, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series 44th Annual Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway on August 18, 2013 in Brooklyn, Michigan.  (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)
Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

In another exciting race toward the Sprint Cup Series Chase for the Championship, it was Joey Logano and the No. 22 car that took the checkered flag and won the 2013 Pure Michigan 400 at Michigan International Speedway.

The win helps the Penske team get closer to ensuring a spot in the championship chase and could be the shift in momentum that brings a NASCAR title to the 23-year-old driver.

Kevin Harvick earned a second-place finish, and Kurt Busch ended up finishing third. Paul Menard took home a stunning fourth-place finish, and Clint Bowyer rounded out the top five.

Full Pure Michigan 400 Results

PosDriverCar #MakeStarted
1Joey Logano22Ford1
2Kevin Harvick29Chevrolet15
3Kurt Busch78Chevrolet2
4Paul Menard27Chevrolet20
5Clint Bowyer15Toyota11
6Marcos Ambrose9Ford26
7Kasey Kahne5Chevrolet31
8Jeff Burton31Chevrolet5
9Greg Biffle16Ford16
10Carl Edwards99Ford19
11Juan Pablo Montoya42Chevrolet6
12Brad Keselowski2Ford9
13Ryan Newman39Chevrolet21
14Austin Dillon14Chevrolet27
15Matt Kenseth20Toyota12
16Martin Truex Jr.56Toyota17
17Jeff Gordon24Chevrolet13
18Aric Almirola43Ford14
19Ricky Stenhouse Jr.17Ford22
20Denny Hamlin11Toyota8
21Trevor Bayne21Ford18
22Jamie McMurray1Chevrolet29
23Danica Patrick10Chevrolet28
24David Ragan34Ford24
25Casey Mears13Ford33
26David Stremme30Toyota36
27Mark Martin55Toyota4
28Travis Kvapil93Toyota38
29Timmy Hill32Ford34
30Dave Blaney7Chevrolet42
31Kyle Busch18Toyota10
32Landon Cassill33Chevrolet43
33Brendan Gaughan51Chevrolet39
34Joe Nemechek87Toyota37
35Bobby Labonte47Toyota30
36Dale Earnhardt Jr.88Chevrolet7
37David Gilliland38Ford23
38David Reutimann83Toyota25
39Josh Wise35Ford40
40Jimmie Johnson48Chevrolet3
41Scott Speed95Ford32
42Johnny Sauter98Ford41
43J.J. Yeley36Chevrolet35

*Visit NASCAR.com for results and race times.

Logano and the No. 22 car won the honor of starting the race on the pole, but the serenity of the Irish Hills of Michigan was shattered almost immediately after Bowyer and the No. 15 car spun out on Lap 2 and brought out the caution flag.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

After a return to green-flag racing, David Reutimann brought another yellow flag on Lap 8. The early string of bad luck didn't end there, as yet another crash on Lap 13 between Austin Dillon and J.J. Yeley slowed the field again.

Though chaos ruled early in the race, it was relatively smooth sailing for the remainder of the first 100 laps for almost every driver except Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 car. Johnson was already in a backup car, but the motor blew up and forced him to enter the garage early on Lap 60.

Almost the entire field hit pit road during a debris caution on Lap 107, and the intense racing of Michigan took over for a long green-flag run. However, Dale Earnhardt Jr. brought out another yellow flag as he cut down a right-front tire and smashed into the wall while running in seventh place.

The yellow flag flew once again on Lap 149 when Bobby Labonte spun into the grass and set up an intriguing last 50 laps of the race.

Kyle Busch brought out yet another caution flag on Lap 157, and the majority of the field hit the pits in hopes of finishing without making another stop. Busch wasn’t done spinning, though, as he took a trip through the grass on Lap 173.

Mark Martin led the final stretch of laps, but it came down to fuel mileage once again, as the No. 55 was forced to pit with four laps remaining and give the lead to Logano.

2013 Sprint Cup Standings

RankDriverPointsBehindStartsWinsTop 5Top 10DNFLapsLaps Led
1Jimmie Johnson813-234915160041139
2Clint Bowyer7724123081316141115
3Carl Edwards7625123171206117214
4Kevin Harvick749642326122586144
5Kyle Busch7061072331014357441066
6Matt Kenseth68812523451135748995
7Dale Earnhardt Jr.67913423051225906114
8Brad Keselowski66714623071115945170
9Kurt Busch66514823061126055314
10Greg Biffle6631502313905911115
11Kasey Kahne65915423271035825466
12Martin Truex Jr.6531602315925827253

*Complete standings found at ESPN.com.

With another chapter in the books, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series moves toward the Chase for the Sprint Cup as it travels to Bristol Motor Speedway for the Irwin Tools Night Race. The next race will take place Aug. 24 at 7:43 p.m. ET and will be televised on ABC.

Denny Hamlin was the 2012 race champion. 


    Mahomes Positioned to Be the Next Michael Jordan

    The QB can be a global phenomenon 👏

    Featured logo

    Mahomes Positioned to Be the Next Michael Jordan

    Mike Tanier
    via Bleacher Report

    New @BR_NBA Top 100 Series 📝

    🗓️ Monday-Friday: Top 15 at each position 📲 We start with the top current PGs

    Featured logo

    New @BR_NBA Top 100 Series 📝

    Andy Bailey and Dan Favale
    via Bleacher Report

    Power-Ranking the MLB Ballparks ✍️

    We rank Fenway, Wrigley and all 30 parks ahead of the 2020 season

    Featured logo

    Power-Ranking the MLB Ballparks ✍️

    Zachary D. Rymer
    via Bleacher Report

    What Protests Mean for NFL

    Jerry Jones’ silence. Josh Norman's activism. NFL players talk about the impact of this historic moment 📲

    Featured logo

    What Protests Mean for NFL

    Kalyn Kahler
    via Bleacher Report