Chauncey Billups of The Nuggets Takes Home Joe Dumars

Bhavik DarjiCorrespondent IApril 29, 2009

DENVER - NOVEMBER 07:  Referee Jimmy Clark and Chauncey Billups #7 of the Denver Nuggets greet one another prior to the game as the Nuggets host the Dallas Mavericks during NBA action at the Pepsi Center on November 7, 2008 in Denver, Colorado. The Nuggets defeated the Mavericks 108-105.  (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)

Ironic, is it not?

Chauncey Billups, the former Detroit Piston, won the Sportsmanship award who has been named on behalf of the first winner, Joe Dumars, his former GM.

JD is probably sitting in his office right now thinking about this, and how he let Billups go.

If anything, Joe should travel down to Denver tomorrow and personally hand the Joe Dumars trophy into Billups' hot hands.

The sportsmanship award is handed out by having one representative from all of the 30 teams, and is then narrowed down to six players who represent their respective division.

They each win their division sportsmanship award.

That six is than narrowed down to one, with NBA players casting in their votes.

First place vote counts for 11 points, second place votes are nine points, seven for third place, five for fourth, three for fifth, and one for sixth.

The person with the most points wins.

Billups, this year, was recognized for his work outside the NBA in the NBA Cares program, his sportsmanship on and off the court ( as seen in the picture above Billups sharing a laugh with the referee), good behavior, playing fair, and integrity.

Billups, believe it or not, has received 10 technicals and still won!

The NBA will also make a donation on behalf of Chauncey to the Porter-Billups Leadership Academy at

Regis University and another donation on the behalf of the other five players.

Sportsmanship rankings in order:

Chauncey Billups had 82 first place, 69 second, 73 third, 64 fourth, 38 fifth, and 10 last for a total of 2478 points.

Ray Allen had 76 first place, 60 second, 50 third, 35 fourth, 38 fifth, and 77 sixth for a total of 2092


McDyess had 40 first place, 82 second place, 51 third place, 43 fourth place, 74 fifth place, and 46 sixth place votes for a total of 2018.

Antwan Jamison had 42 first place, 46 second place, 77 third, 74 fourth, 65 fifth, and 32 last place votes for a total of 2012

Michael Finlay had 32 first place votes, 49 second place votes, 57 third place, 73 fourth place, 77 fifth place, and 48 last place votes for a total of 1836.


Turiaf had 64 first place votes, 30 second place, 28 third place, 47 fourth place, 44 fifth place, and 123 third place votes for a total of 1660.

Some sporty facts

Grant Hill is the only player to win the award twice—once with the Magic once with the Suns.

The Spurs have had three separate players win it for their franchise. They had Avery Johnson, David Robinson, and Steve Smith win it respectively.

Loul Deng is the only foreign player to win the award.

Five of the 13 players who have won it are still active. Two of them are hall of

famers: David Robinson and Joe Dumars.

Denver's next game is tomorrow at the Pepsi Center against the Hornets shown on TNT.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.