Sprint Unlimited 2013 Results: Leaders, Times and Analysis

Mike Hoag@MikeHoagJrCorrespondent IIFebruary 17, 2013

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - FEBRUARY 16:  Kevin Harvick, driver of the #29 Budweiser Chevrolet, celebrates with a burnout after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway on February 16, 2013 in Daytona Beach, Florida.  (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)
Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

The 2013 NASCAR Sprint Unlimited kicked off the season with a bang on Saturday night as Kevin Harvick cruised his way to the first victory of the year.

Harvick was pretty dominant, too, leading for 40 of the race's 75 laps.

The debut of the Generation-6 race car saw many drivers testing and working out the kinks in their new sets of wheels. Drivers were also aggressive, helping and bumping others along to get a complete feel of their new vehicles.

While many of NASCAR's stars were on the track, many like last season’s Sprint Cup champion Brad Keselowski were not. Only previous winners of the event and pole winners from last season comprised the 19-car field.

At the 15 lap mark, Tony Stewart clipped Marcus Ambrose, causing a reaction from the cars behind him. Seven cars were tangled up in the ensuing crash caused the first caution flag of the race halfway through the first segment.

Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Mark Martin, Martin Truex Jr. and Kurt Busch were among those affected by the crash.

All seven of those big-name drivers were also disappointed while watching the rest of the race from the sidelines thanks to the early crash. They were kept out of the race due to the damage to their cars.

Tony Stewart, whose aggressiveness may have sparked the wreck, ended segment one in the lead at the end of 30 laps.

Remember, fans voted to require all drivers to pit at the end of the first segment for four new tires.

Segment two continued despite the drop of those seven drives from the race. The stage ended with Kevin Harvick in the lead.

Harvick held onto that lead, too, until the checkered flag after warding off a late surge by Greg Biffle and Stewart.

Race Winner—Kevin Harvick, Richard Childress Racing

Harvick, who won the next-to-last race of the season in Phoenix, has now won three of the last five Sprint Unlimited races. The win gives his team their eighth overall win at this race, the most by any team in the history of the event.

Results and Times

*All times and positions courtesy of Fox Sports

**Times listed are for the cars’ final lap times

Finish Car No. Driver Time Laps
1 29 Kevin Harvick 46.149 75
2 16 Greg Biffle 46.115 75
3 22 Joey Logano 46.042 75
4 14 Tony Stewart 46.332 75
5 20 Matt Kenseth 45.964. 75
6 43 Aric Almirola 46.279 75
7 5 Kasey Kahne 46.207 75
8 99 Carl Edwards 46.36 75
9 88 Dale Earnhardt Jr. 45.745 75
10 56 Martin Truex Jr. 45.481 75
11 42 Juan Pablo Montoya 46.807 75
12 9 Marcos Ambrose 68.071 75
13 78 Kurt Busch UNK 17
14 48 Jimmie Johnson 45.215 15
15 11 Denny Hamlin 45.043 15
16 18 Kyle Busch 45.069 15
17 24 Jeff Gordon 45.078 15
18 55 Mark Martin 45.332 15
19 32 Terry Labonte 45.862 3

The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.