Indy 500 Qualifying Results 2021: Scott Dixon Earns Pole Position over Colton Herra

Timothy Rapp@@TRappaRTFeatured Columnist IVMay 23, 2021

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MAY 22: NTT Indy Car series driver Scott Dixon (9) poses for a photo  after qualifying for the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 22, 2021 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images)
Brian Spurlock/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Scott Dixon will sit on the pole at the Indianapolis 500 next Sunday. 

He averaged a speed of 231.685 mph to take the pole and will be joined by Colton Herra (231.655 average mph) and Rinus VeeKay (231.511 average mph) in the front row. 


His speed can’t be beat.<br><br>With a four-lap average speed of 231.685 MPH, @scottdixon9 will lead the field of 33 to the green flag for the 105th Indy 500.<br> #INDYCAR // #INDY500 pic.twitter.com/UkstCjx5W3

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC

FOURTH #Indy500 POLE FOR @SCOTTDIXON9! #MustBeMay<br><br>Listen as the fans at @IMS salute The Iceman. pic.twitter.com/gJD8lv1FpJ

Sunday's triumph earned Dixon a $100,000 prize. He was understandably a happy man, especially after his final run got a touch hairy. 

"Obviously you could see towards the end of that lap there it got pretty sketchy and we scrubbed a ton of speed," he said after the race.

"It doesn't matter what it is, we'll take that," he added after being told he earned the top spot by a minuscule 0.03 mph. 

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC

"How's that, boss?"@ScottDixon9 and @GanassiChip share a moment after Dixon gets his first pole since 2017. #Indy500 // @IMS // @CGRTeams pic.twitter.com/NCRL7G171T

Here's how the full field shook out:

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC

The fastest 33 make up the #Indy500 field.<br><br>We take you row-by-row ahead of the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 at @IMS. pic.twitter.com/3cefJXAlIU

  • Row 2: Ed Carpenter, Tony Kanaan and Alex Palou
  • Row 3: Ryan Hunter-Reay, Helio Castroneves and Marcus Ericsson
  • Row 4: Alexander Rossi, Ed Jones and Pato O'Ward
  • Row 5: Pietro Fittipaldi, Felix Rosenqvist and Takuma Sato
  • Row 6: James Hinchcliffe, Scott McLaughlin and Graham Rahal
  • Row 7: Conor Daly, Jack Harvey and Josef Newgarden
  • Row 8: JR Hildebrand, Santino Ferrucci and Juan Pablo Montoya
  • Row 9: Marco Andretti, Simon Pagenaud and Sebastien Bourdais
  • Row 10: Stefan Wilson, Max Chilton and Dalton Kellett
  • Row 11: Sage Karam, Will Power and Simona De Silvestro

Notable racers to miss the cut included Charlie Kimball and RC Enerson. 

History was also made Sunday, as De Silvestro and Paretta Autosport owner Beth Paretta became the first female driver-owner pairing to qualify for the race. 

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC

History made at @IMS!<br><br>The first time a female driver and female owner have qualified for the #Indy500 together! @OnHerTurf // @simdesilvestro // @ParettaSport pic.twitter.com/GhMwy9mGIW

"I feel like we've climbed a mountain together," Paretta said of the achievement. "Hats off to all of these women, also all these men from Team Penske who have been coaching our women on this team and really just working, digging in. ... I couldn't be happier, and we can't wait till next week."

The 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 will take place next Sunday at 11 a.m. ET on NBC. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.