NHL History: The 10 Greatest Defensemen To Never Win a Norris Trophy

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL History: The 10 Greatest Defensemen To Never Win a Norris Trophy

Since being introduced in the 1953-54 season, the Norris Trophy has been awarded annually in the NHL to the defenseman who demonstrates the greatest all-around ability at the position.

Twenty-three different defensemen have won this award since its inception—from Red Kelly to Bobby Orr to Denis Potvin to Nicklas Lidstrom, with Orr leading the way with eight wins.

Even though many of the greats have been honored with this trophy, there are some who have not been so lucky and have been on the outside looking in.

Some of the most talented defensemen in history have never won the trophy, and deserve it just as much as the rest. Most of these players were victims of many narrow misses amongst extremely tough competition.

Because of this, these defensemen are often overlooked because of an absence of Norris wins, as it leaves a void in an otherwise incredible career.

In this list, I will recognize the 10 greatest players who were never able to take home the defenseman holy grail.

Note: Defensemen who hit their prime before the trophy was introduced will not be included in this list (Eddie Shore never won a Norris, just because he retired before it was established).

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.