NHL: Hockey's Future Hall of Famers

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL: Hockey's Future Hall of Famers
Harry How/Getty Images
Anaheim Ducks forward Teemu Selanne has scored 642 goals and counting

The Hockey Hall of Fame is the highest honor any player can achieve. It signifies the accomplishments and heights that only a few have, or will, achieve.

The National Hockey League was formed in 1917 and thousands of players have donned an NHL uniform but only 247 have been honored with induction into the Hall. Some of the players so honored have included Howie Morenz, Rocket Richard, Gordie Howe, Bobby Orr, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux and Steve Yzerman. Each era has seen some of the best of the best.

Congratulations to this year's inductees, Mark Howe, Joe Nieuwendyk, Ed Belfour and Doug Gilmour, who will become members of the Hockey Hall of Fame on November 14, 2011.

The present era certainly has future Hall of Famers skating in NHL buildings on a nightly basis which means each NHL division has some of the game's greatest players. Some divisions have only one or two players worthy of induction while other divisions have five or more.

In fact, a handful of teams may have up to five future members of the Hall. On the following pages, I take a look at the players we are fortunate to watch every time we visit an NHL arena or turn on our televisions.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.