NHL: Power Ranking the Top 10 Champions in Stanley Cup History

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL: Power Ranking the Top 10 Champions in Stanley Cup History
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

With the Stanley Cup Final in full swing, it's time to take a look back at the top 10 champions in Stanley Cup history.

Here are the ground rules for this list. First, no teams from the days before the NHL had exclusive control of the Stanley Cup. So, fans of the Montreal Maroons and Vancouver Millionaires are just out of luck.

Also, I would only take one team from any given dynasty. It would be pointless to say that the best three teams on the list were all members of the Canadiens, who won five straight Stanley Cups from 1956-1960, or the Islanders, who won four straight from 1980-1983. I just took the best team from those dynasties and put them in the mix to prevent the list from getting redundant.

Keep in mind that if I rank one team ahead of another, it doesn't mean I am ranking a particular dynasty ahead of another. I am simply ranking the most dominant single team within that dynasty.

Feel free to comment on the list and say why a team should be on it or if you feel a particular team deserves to be higher (or lower) than where they were placed. Just indicate why you feel the way you do.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.