NHL Awards 2013: Projecting Winners for All of Saturday's Announcements

David DanielsSenior Writer IJune 15, 2013

Jun 3, 2013; Pittsburgh, PA, USA; Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby (87) at the face-off circle against the Boston Bruins during the third period in game two of the Eastern Conference finals of the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs at the CONSOL Energy Center. The Boston Bruins won 6-1. Mandatory Credit: Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports
Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sport

Numerous awards for the 2013 NHL season have already been handed out, but the winners of many prestigious trophies remain unannounced.

Those announcements will be made at 7 p.m. ET on NBC Sports Network, according to ProHockeyTalk’s Jason Brough. Here are the nominees for each award and predictions for who will win.


Calder Memorial Trophy (Rookie of the Year)

Finalists: Brendan Gallagher, Jonathan Huberdeau and Brandon Saad

Winner: Jonathan Huberdeau

TSN’s Bob McKenzie said Huberdeau will be in Chicago, where the awards are being presented, on Saturday. The victory makes sense. Huberdeau finished the season with 31 points, three more than Gallagher and four more than Saad.


Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player as Selected by NHLPA Members)

Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin and Martin St. Louis

Winner: Martin St. Louis

Ovechkin was the best goal scorer in the NHL this season, but setting teammates up to score is just as valuable as doing the dirty work. That’s why St. Louis, who led the league with 43 assists and 60 points, should win the Lindsay Award. He finished with more assists and goals than Crosby.


Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender)

Finalists: Sergei Bobrovsky, Henrik Lundqvist and Antti Niemi

Winner: Sergei Bobrovsky 

Bobrovsky’s winning percentage this season of 55.2 is 0.06 less than Lundqvist’s and Niemi’s. Such a minute difference shouldn’t earn Lundqvist or Niemi an edge, especially considering that their teams as a whole were better than Bobrovsky’s. The Columbus Blue Jackets goalie finished his year with a better save percentage and goals-against average than his competitors.


James Norris Memorial Trophy (Best Defenseman)

Finalists: Kris Letang, P.K. Subban and Ryan Suter

Winner: P.K. Subban

Sportsnet’s Nick Kypreos reported that Subban will edge Letang and Suter out for the award.

Subban and Letang tied for the most points in the NHL among defensemen. Letang finished with better plus/minus numbers, but he also played on a more talented team.


Hart Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player)

Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin and John Tavares

Winner: Alex Ovechkin

According to TSN’s Darren Dreger, none of the three nominees would be in Chicago to accept the Hart Trophy, but Ovechkin would be honored from Russia over video feed. Ovechkin scored 32 goals this season, three more than any other player. Four of his goals were game-winners as he carried the Capitals to a 27-18-3 record.


David Daniels is a breaking news writer at Bleacher Report and news editor at Wade-O Radio.