NHL Awards 2012: Breaking Down the Calder Trophy Race

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
NHL Awards 2012: Breaking Down the Calder Trophy Race
Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

With under a month remaining in the NHL season, it's becoming clearer who could be in contention for each award. But, right now, the race for the Calder Trophy—awarded to the Rookie of the Year—is as tight as ever, and no one could be considered a favorite at this point.

Some players, though, rise above many of the others. Adam Henrique, Gabriel Landeskog, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins and Matt Read lead the scoring race, and seem to be the strongest candidates up this point.

Strong arguments could also be made for Carl Hagelin, Jake Gardiner, Cody Hodgson and others but, right now, they aren't on top. 

Here, we're going to break down the race and see who might have an edge.


All stats were obtained from NHL.com, and were accurate as of 3/12.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.