Dario Franchitti Wins The Indianapolis 500, Conway Injured

Dustin H.Correspondent IMay 31, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS - MAY 30:  Dario Franchitti of Scotland, driver of the #10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara Honda, celebrates in victory circle after winning the IZOD IndyCar Series 94th running of the Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 30, 2010 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)
Nick Laham/Getty Images

Dario Franchitti won the 94th Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, in a exciting finish with several cars playing the fuel mileage game only to run out in the closing laps of the 500. Dario Franchitti who showed some speed all month and was fastest on Friday in final practice really was somewhat of a sleeper if you look at the practice charts and pole day. Franchitti and the Target Chip Ganassi #10 team went to victory lane at Indianapolis which is the holy grail of auto racing. Dario took his second win in the Indy 500 first coming in 2007 and currently the defending Indycar Champion.

Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Graham Rahal, Justin Wilson and Mike Conway all swapped the lead in the final 30 laps after Dario dominated most of the day. These drivers all rain out of fuel in the closing laps and Dario took the lead back and was being about a straightaway ahead of Dan Wheldon when he took the white flag, a crashed occured out of turn 3 and tur 4 involving Ryan Hunter Reay and Mike Conway, Conway got airborne up into the catch fence and the car split into pieces. Conway was to have been reported to suffered a broken left leg.

The IZOD IndyCar Series heads to Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth for the Firestone 550K on Saturday night at 8pm on Versus with Indycar Qualifying 5pm on Versus Friday. With the Indy 500 champion crowned the focus now begins on securing a Indycar Championship.

94th Indianapolis 500 Results From Indianapolis Motor Speedway May 30, 2010.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

1.Dario Franchitti

2.Dan Wheldon

3.Marco Andretti

4.Alex Lloyd

5.Scott Dixon

6.Danica Patrick

7.Justin Wilson

8.Will Power

9.Helio Castroneves

10.Alex Tagliani

Tony Kanaan was the comeback story of the Indy 500 as he started 33rd and worked his way to the front and was in contention to win in the closing laps until he had to pit for fuel. Kanaan would finish 11th on Sunday and has to be proud of the effort even though its not a win, he showed how good of a driver he was on Sunday.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!