Tony Stewart Stirs the Stuff With His Third Annual Stewie Awards

David YeazellSenior Analyst IDecember 4, 2009

LAS VEGAS - DECEMBER 03:  Driver Tony Stewart smiles during the The Stewies on SIRIUS NASCAR Radio during NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champions Week on December 3, 2009 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  (Photo by Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images

Tony Stewart and Matt Yocum took to the Sirius Satellite air waves in Las Vegas Thursday night to present winners of the third annual Stewie Awards.

The star-studded event kicked off at the Rio Hotel and Suites and featured guest appearances by Robin Leach, serving as show announcer, Carrot Top and 10 of this year's Chase drivers, including four-time champion Jimmie Johnson and crew chief Chad Knaus.

Up for grabs were awards in nine categories, with winners in each decided by fan voting.

This year also featured the first time a sitting U.S. President was nominated for an award. It also featured two special awards, one for lifetime achievement given to Rick Hendrick and the Golden Stewie Award was given to David Pearson.

Rolling through the two-hour comedic award show with the grace of Vanna White and the physique of Drew Carey, Stewart seemed humbled after hearing his name announced for the "Best Vocal Performance" award.

Stewart's “in awe” comments about Jeff Gordon at Kansas beat out Michael Waltrip, President Barack Obama and Kyle Busch, who was nominated in a record five categories.

Juan Pablo Montoya’s comments about NASCAR screwing him at Indianapolis bested four other nominees for the award in “Driver2CrewChatter” category. Montoya's domination of the race, leading by as much as seven seconds at one point, came to an abrupt end with a pit road speeding penalty on his final stop, all but handing the win to Jimmie Johnson.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Chad Knaus’ offer to kiss Jimmie Johnson on the lips after qualifying on the pole at Phoenix was conveniently left off of this year’s nomination list.  

Jeremy Mayfield’s final opportunity to salvage something from this year’s season was stifled by none other than Kyle Busch.

Busch won the “Bonehead Move of the Year” award for smashing the one-of-a-kind Sam Bass guitar after winning the Nationwide race at Nashville.

According to voters, Carl Edward’s spectacular ride on the last lap at Talladega in the spring race was good enough to win him the award for “Best Stunt Sequence.”

Given the other three nominees in this category, Kasey Kahne and Sam Hornish Jr. at Watkins Glen, Joey Logano at Dover and Ryan Newman at Talladega in the fall, this award should really be changed to “Best Supporting Roll Cage.”

Other notable awards for the night were: Mark Martin, “Best Original Drama;” Denny Hamlin vs. Brad Keselowski, “Best Original Comedy;” Kevin Harvick, “Feels Like the First Time;” Marcos Ambrose, “I Got Dumped;” and Mark Martin and Jimmie Johnson, “Best Engineering and Special Effects.”

The Annual Stewie Awards celebrate the strangest and funniest moments during the year of NASCAR racing. Be sure to nominate and vote for your favorite moments in the 2010 season.