Tim Lincecum Wins National League's Cy Young Award By Default

Cliff Eastham@RedsToTheBoneSenior Writer IINovember 19, 2009

SAN FRANCISCO - SEPTEMBER 09: Tim Lincecum #55 of the San Francisco Giants looks on against the San Diego Padres during a Major League Baseball game at AT&T Park on September 9, 2009 in San Francisco, California.  (Photo by Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images)
Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images

ESPN has just announced that Tim Lincecum has become the first MLB repeat winner of the Cy Young Award since Randy Johnson won four in succession from 1999-2002.

Lincecum, in my opinion, won the award by default this season. I don't think the voters could choose between Chris Carpenter and Adam Wainwright, both of the St. Louis Cardinals, so they chose Lincecum by default.

Carpenter led the league in ERA with a dazzling 2.24 and the best ERA+ at 183. He also had the best W/L PCT with .810 and the best whip of the three at 1.007.

Lincecum led the league for the second consecutive season in strikeouts with 261.  He also led the league in complete games and shutouts.

Wainwright was the league leader in wins with 19. He also led in games started with 37, and innings pitched with 233.

The voting was as thin as ice, with Lincecum receiving 100 votes, Carpenter 94, and Wainwright 90.  Wainwright received the most 1st place votes with 12.

Even though I believe Tim is the best starting pitcher on the planet, I do not feel he is worthy of the repeat honor. In fact, it seems incredulous that a man with 15 wins could win the award while leading the league in only one of the three "triple crown" categories.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Chris Carpenter should have won the award and although he was not "above and beyond" the others, I believe he did enough to win the award.

What are your thoughts?



Cliff Eastham is a B/R Featured Columnist for the Cincinnati Reds

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!