Iowa Corn Indy 250 2013: Start Time, Lineup, TV Schedule and More

Steven Cook@@stevencookinFeatured Columnist IVJune 23, 2013

NEWTON, IA - JUNE 22:  Scott Dixon of New Zealand (C) drives the #9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda during qualifying for the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway on June 22, 2013 in Newton, Iowa.  (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)
Chris Trotman/Getty Images

The IZOD IndyCar Series continues on Sunday, as some of the world's best drivers compete at the 2013 Iowa Corn Indy 250. 

Sunday's race at the Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa will mark the seventh time that IndyCar drivers have taken the stage, with the inaugural race taking place in 2007. Dario Franchitti has enjoyed the most success there, winning the event twice. 

Meanwhile, Andretti Autosport has taken the past three victories by way of Tony Kanaan in 2010, Marco Andretti in 2011 and Ryan Hunter-Reay as the defending champion. Hunter-Reay's victory in Iowa last year helped fuel his run to the IndyCar Series title. 

Heat races determined who would man the pole for Sunday's event. Helio Castroneves won the pole, but he will start 11th due to an unapproved engine change.

Let's break down everything you need to know about the Iowa Corn Indy 250.

When: Sunday, June 23

Where: Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa

Start Time: 2:30 p.m. ET


Full Lineup

Position Driver Car Number
1 Will Power 12
2 James Hinchcliffe 27
3 Marco Andretti 25
4 Ed Carpenter 20
5 Tony Kanaan 11
6 Graham Rahal 15
7 Oriol Servia 4
8 Simon Pagenaud 77
9 Alex Tagliani 98
10 Justin Wilson 19
11 Helio Castroneves 3
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay 1
13 Tristan Vautier 55
14 Charlie Kimball 83
15 Scott Dixon 9
16 E.J. Viso 5
17 Takuma Sato 14
18 Sebastian Saavedra 6
19 Sebastien Bourdais 7
20 Simona de Silvestro 78
21 Dario Franchitti 10
22 Josef Newgarden 67
23 Ana Beatriz 18
24 James Jakes 16

Lineup per NBC Sports.

Biggest Storylines

Can Castroneves Distance Himself in Standings?

Heading into Sunday's race, Helio Castroneves has a tight lead over Ryan Hunter-Reay in the IZOD IndyCar Series standings, per NBC Sports. 

However, the 38-year-old Castroneves has never won the title despite becoming one of the faces of IndyCar racing and winning the Indy 500 three times. 

Holding off the defending champion will be easier said than done, as Hunter-Reay took last year's race and is coming off a win at the Milwaukee IndyFest last weekend.

Castroneves seems poised to maintain his lead, as he finished right on Hunter-Reay's heels in second place last weekend at Milwaukee, and another top-five finish could help cement his place at the top. 

Will Hunter-Reay Continue His Dominance?

In a sport that is dominated by racing celebrities, Ryan Hunter-Reay made himself a household name by dominating the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series. 

Apparently, he's not done making his mark on IndyCar racing, as his two wins and five top-five finishes have him trailing Castroneves by just 16 points in the standings. 

The 32-year-old is coming off a victory at the Milwaukee IndyFest last weekend and was able to hold off second-place Castroneves to pull closer within reach to his lead in the standings. Additionally, he took the Iowa Corn Indy 250 last year. 

Hunter-Reay has finished in the top three in four of his past five appearances, and if he can do so again, his chances of repeating as IZOD IndyCar Series champion will receive a big boost. 

Can a Pole-Winner Finally Break Through?

The importance of pole position can never be understated, but in Iowa IndyCar races, it's turned into quite the curse.

No driver has ever won an IndyCar race from the pole at Iowa. 

Although Castroneves won the pole late Saturday, he was given a 10-spot grid penalty for an unapproved engine change and that bumped him back to 11th. Now, Will Power will man the pole.

Though if anyone can break the mold and become the first pole-winner to win at Iowa, it's Power. The 32-year-old Australian has finished in second place in the IndyCar Series in each of the past three years. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.