Major Champs, a Former World No. 1, Headline PGA Tour Q-School

Kathy BissellCorrespondent INovember 4, 2011

David Duval, former World No. 1, back at Q School
David Duval, former World No. 1, back at Q SchoolScott Halleran/Getty Images

A former World No. 1. A US Open Champ. A British Open champ. A PGA Champ. A Ryder Cupper. A Presidents Cupper. What do they have in common? They’re all in the PGA Tour Q-School this year. 

And they aren’t exempt into the final round. They have to play second stage to get to the finals.  Once there, they have to beat numerous talented newcomers as well as other PGA Tour winners to either improve their position in the pecking order for next year’s tournaments or to win a PGA Tour card outright for the 2012 season.

Who’s playing?

David Duval, who won the British Open and The Players, and dethroned Tiger Woods as World No. 1. But that was 10 years ago. In golf, it’s "What have you done lately?" Duval, like fellow British Open champ Todd Hamilton, is back at Q-School.

Also trying to get playing status back or improved status over their finishes on the money list are PGA Champs Shaun Micheel and Rich Beem.  

Former Ryder Cuppers Boo Weekley and Chris Riley and Presidents Cup “Aquaman” Woody Austin are also signed up. Austin got the nickname when he fell into a hazard after taking a shot during the Presidents Cup. He showed up the next day with a swim mask.

There are plenty of tournament winners in this year’s Q- School, too.

Lee Janzen, two-time US Open champ, back at Q-School
Lee Janzen, two-time US Open champ, back at Q-SchoolHunter Martin/Getty Images

PGA Tour winners abound in this year’s Q-School drama: Jeff Maggert, Frank Lickliter III, Len Mattiace, Robert Gamez, Robert Damron, Joe Durant, Ted Purdy, Nolan Henke, Blaine McAllislter, Paul Stankowski, Duffy Waldorf, Notah Begay, Ted Tryba, Ted Purdy, Will Mackenzie. And that’s just the tip of the talent iceberg.   

But perhaps the story of all stories is that the legendary Mac O'Grady, who has already been to 17 PGA Tour Q Schools, is back for his 18th attempt. O’Grady won twice on the PGA Tour, including the MONY Tournament of Champions in 1987.

Considered an intellectual, just a little bit quirky and outside the mainstream, O’Grady always marched to a slightly different beat. He has played both right-handed and left-handed (as an amateur). O’Grady once had a six-event suspension placed on him by former PGA Tour commissioner Deane Beman for conduct unbecoming a professional. 

Some of the more familiar names in this year's Q-School:

Woody Austin

Rich Beem 

Brian Bateman

Woody Austin  aka Aquaman at Presidents Cup
Woody Austin aka Aquaman at Presidents CupScott Halleran/Getty Images

Doug Barron 

Clark Dennis

David Gossett

Jeff Maggert 

Shaun Micheel 

Cameron Percy 

Ted Purdy 

Chris Smith 

Vance Veazey 

Brian Watts 

Charles Warren

Eric Axley 

Robert Damron

Joe Durant 

Nick Flanagan 

Robert Gamez 

Lee Janzen 

Frank Lickliter 

Will MacKenzie 

Ted Tryba

Patrick Sheehan

Scott Dunlap

Carlos Franco 

Nathan Green 

Scott Gutschewski 

Todd Hamilton 

Brenden Pappas 

Paul Stankowski

Chris Tidland 

Tommy Armour

Guy Boros 

Glen Day 

Nolan Henke

Richard Johnson

Skip Kendall 

Peter Lonard

Len Mattiace 

Blaine McCallister

David Morland 

Dicky Pride

Marc Turnesa

Boo Weekley 

Omar Uresti 

Craig Barlow

David Berganio 

Jeff Brehaut 

Alex Cejka 

David Duval 

Mark Hensby

Doug LaBelle 

Bob May 

Troy Merritt 

Mac O'Grady 

Jeff Quinney 

Chris Riley

Daniel Summerhays 

Esteban Toledo 

Duffy Waldorf 

Dean Wilson 

Notah Begay 

Carl Paulson 


    Koepka Goes Back-to-Back at the US Open 🏆

    Golf logo

    Koepka Goes Back-to-Back at the US Open 🏆

    Scott Polacek
    via Bleacher Report

    Watch: Highlights from Koepka's Win

    Golf logo

    Watch: Highlights from Koepka's Win

    via PGATour

    Final Leaderboard from Shinnecock

    Golf logo

    Final Leaderboard from Shinnecock

    via Pga

    Koepka, Girlfriend Jena Sims Celebrate US Open Win

    Golf logo

    Koepka, Girlfriend Jena Sims Celebrate US Open Win

    Joseph Zucker
    via Bleacher Report