NASCAR By the Numbers: Day 22 in the Countdown to the DAYTONA 500

MOORESVILLE, NC - JANUARY 24: Kurt Busch, driver of the #22 Shell/Pennzoil Dodge, speaks to the media during the NASCAR Sprint Media Tour hosted by Charlotte Motor Speedway, held at Penske Racing on January 24, 2011 in Mooresville, North Carolina. (Photo by Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Jason Smith/Getty Images
Dawn Peralli-OishiContributor IIJanuary 29, 2011

We are counting down the days until the DAYTONA 500 using some fun facts.

Number 22

Wins over 11 years by the 2004 Sprint Cup Champion, Kurt Busch.  Busch will drive the No. 22 Shell-Pennzoil Dodge for the 2011 season.  Looking to trade in some of his Sprint Cup Series left turns, Busch spent most of his off season testing, and earned his NHRA Pro Stock license.  He will make his National Hot Rod Association Full Throttle Series debut this March at the 41st Gator Nationals.

Poles won by Dale Earnhardt.  He went on to win 3 of those races.

Races won running in the Car of Tomorrow with a wing by Jimmie Johnson.

Age Richard Petty and Jeff Gordon started their Sprint Cup Series debut.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices