2008-09 NHL Awards Predictions

Dan NoonCorrespondent IAugust 29, 2008

Along with my Eastern Conference predictions, let me offer my '08-09 award predictions...


Hart Trophy

The Hart Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

Alex Ovechkin. What a suprise. Expect another 60-goal, 100-point season for Alex the Great. But he won't be the only reason the Caps succeed this season.


Art Ross Trophy

The Art Ross Trophy is awarded annually to the player who leads the league in points at the end of the regular season.

Sidney Crosby.  This prediction is only based on the assumption that the kid stays healthy. If so, look for over 130 points from Sid.


Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the rookie of the year.

Steven Stamkos.  Although an obvious selection, this kid will live up to the hype. If he's playing with LeCavalier, look for 25 goals and 80 points from the wonder boy.


Norris Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the best defensive player.

Dion Phaneuf. BA-BA-DA-DA-DA!!! Its only a matter of time before this freak of nature becomes the elite D-man in the league. Playing in a system run by Iron Mike, Dion is playing the way he was meant to—"git-er-done".


Maurice Richard Trophy

The Maurice Richard Trophy is awarded annually to the player with the most goals at the end of the regular season.

Alex Ovechkin. Enough said.


Lester B. Pearson Award

The Lester B. Pearson Award is an annual award presented to the National Hockey League's outstanding player, as selected by the members of the NHL Players' Association.

Sidney Crosby. Well, Alex can't win 'em all, can he? Sid seems like the next best pick.


Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player judged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct, combined with a high standard of playing ability. 

Pavel Datsyuk.  He always wins this one.


Frank J. Selke Trophy

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is an annual award given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

Eric Staal. Im suprised he hasn't won this award already. Eric keeps maturing into a more complete hockey player every year—and this time around, it will be recognized.


Vezina Trophy

The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given to the goalie judged to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.

Martin Brodeur. He's not getting old, he's getting better. The last three seasons have been the best of his career. This guy is a machine, and still the best goalie on earth.


Jack Adams Award

The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team's success.

Ken Hitchcock.  Look for the Blue Jackets to finally enter postseason play this season. With an underrated goalie, and a hell of a captain in Rick Nash, the credit will be given to the coach—and rightfully so.

Well there is my list.  Now, let the disagreements begin!


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices