If Davey Didn't Die: An Alternate NASCAR History 2nd of 2 articles 2001-2009

James EyeContributor ISeptember 10, 2010

July 13, 1993 a day that NASCAR lost one of its brigest young stars way before his time. Davey Allison lost his life from a resulting helipcopter crash in Talladega Alabama. A young star who was only beginning to make his mark in the sport, a Daytona 500 winner two time NASCAR all star winner, and already a championship contender. Fans will always ask themselves what would have happened if Davey had not passed away what could he have done with his career? This is the 2nd article I am going to create an alternate history of what would have happened if Davey would have been around from the years 2001 to 2009. What would have changed, what would have stayed the same?



2001. Dale Earnhardt is killed on the final lap at Daytona when is car is touched by Ernie Irvan driving the 40 Coors Light Dodge. Kevin Harvick takes over the 29 car and wins rookie of the year. Davey Allison wins his second championship his first since 1998 beating Jeff Gordon who places second. Kenny Irwin surprises the NASCAR world winning 3 times finishes third, he also announces he will leave Robert Yates Racing after the season to take over the new Hendrick motor sports number 48 Lowes car. Yates decides to put little know Kasey Kahne in the 27 car. 


2002. Tony Stewart wins his first championship after Ernie Irvan who is leading the points most of the year is hurt in a crash at Kansas motor speedway. Jamie Mcmurray fills in for Irvan and wins his first race at Lowes Motor Speedway. Finishing 2nd in the points is Kenny Irwin who wins 3 races with his new Hendrick Team. Davey Allison finishes 5th in the standings. Kasey Kahne wins Rookie of the year beating Ryan Newman. Ricky Rudd leaves Hendrick Motor Sports and takes over the MBV motor sports 01 car. Joe Nemechek takes over the 25 car.


2003 Davey Allison and Matt Kenseth fight for the championship down to the final weekend of the season, but Davey’s 4 wins out way Kenseth’s constancy and he wins his third NASCAR championship. Kasey Kahne has a break out season winning 3 times and finishes 4th in the points. Ricky Rudd suffers a career ending injury at Richmond. Jamie Mcmurray wins rookie of the year. Penske Racing announces a third team for the upcoming season with ARCA and Busch driver Jimmie Johnson in the 77 Kodak car. Bill Elliot retires and Elliot Sadler is named the new driver of the # 9 Dodge Dealers Car.


2004. The First year of the chase Kurt Busch wins his first championship beating Kenny Irwin and Jeff Gordon. Davey Allison finishes a disappointed 10th in the points. Jimmie Johnson wins rookie of the year. Brian Vickers will take over the 25 car from Joe Nemechek for the 2005 season. Kyle Busch takes over the 5 car.



2005. Tony Stewart wins his second Championship beating Greg Biffle. Davey Allison wins 2 races and finishes 4th in the chase standings. Rusty Wallace retires and Kurt Busch takes over the Miller Light Car. Kyle Busch wins rookie of the year. Jimmie Johnson wins his first 2 races.



2006. Kenny Irwin wins his first championship winning 5 races and beating Matt Kenseth. Davey Allison struggles not winning a race, and finishing 18 in the points. Denny Hamlin surprises everyone winning rookie of the year. Dale Jarrett leaves Yates Racing to Drive the 44 MWR car.



2007. Kenny Irwin wins his second straight championship beating Jeff Gordon . Robert Yates sells his team to Davey Allison after 10 races into the season. Allison who finished 11 in the points surprises the NASCAR world by saying that in the 2008 season his new team will switch to Toyota, with Kasey Kahne staying with him, and Kyle Busch taking over the Allison owned 38 car with Budweiser as his sponsor. Joe Gibbs stays with Chevy for the 2008 season with Dale Earnhardt jr takes over the 18 ride with sponsorship from Visa and the Washington Redskins. Juan Pablo Montoya wins rookie of the year in the 42 Target car.



2008. Kyle Busch wins his first championship with Allison Yates racing. Beating Kenny Irwin, Jimmy Johnson and Kasey Kahne. Davey who finished 8th in the standings states that the 2009 season will be his last as a driver and the Rookie Joey Logano will be taking over for him in 2010. Ryan Newman leaves Penske Racing to drive the 25 U.S Army car for Hendrick Motor Sports. Jimmie Johnson will take over the 12 car with Kodak as his sponsor. Tony Stewart stays with Joe Gibbs Racing.


2009. Jimmie Johnson wins his first championship for Penske Racing beating Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin and Kurt Busch. Davey Allison finishes 11 in the chase winning his final race at a wild fall Talladega Race. Sam Hornish Jr driving his first season with Penske wins rookie of the year. 




So as you see If Davey had not have been lost in 1993 the NASCAR world would have looked very different. What do you think would have happened?