Leading the Pack: Reed Sorenson Fastest In Daytona Nationwide Practice

TALLADEGA, AL - NOVEMBER 02:  The #16 Con-Way Ford Mustang Nationwide COT leaves the garage during testing for the NASCAR Nationwide Series new Car of Tomorrw at Talladega Superspeedway on November 2, 2009 in Talladega, Alabama.  (Photo by Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images
Dustin H.Correspondent IJune 30, 2010

Reed Sorenson was fastest in Wednesday practice for the Nascar Nationwide Series Subway Jalapeno 250 at Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach. Drivers and teams didn't have much time from New Hampshire to Daytona, only three days, to get ready for this big weekend of racing.

Nascar Sprint Cup Series drivers will be on the track Thursday, along with the Nationwide Series. Reed Sorenson topped the practice charts with a lap of 47.84, at 188.111 mph, around the Daytona International Speedway. Brian Ickler, Jason Leffler, Joey Logano, and Ryan Newman round out the top five from practice Wednesday.

Dale Earnhardt Jr, who is running the No. 3 Wranger Chevrolet this weekend, was 17th and Greg Sacks is driving the No. 88 for JR Motorsports at Daytona. Earnhardt Jr and Sacks are both former Daytona winners.

The debut of the Nationwide Series COT car has been much anticipated, and it's finally here. Dale Jr running the No. 3 will be special as well, and I'm sure everyone will be glad to see a Earnhardt driving it at Daytona.

Kerry Earnhardt will also be driving Dale Sr.'s 1995 Brickyard 400 winning car in England this weekend in the England's Goodwood Of Speed Festival.

Subway Jalpeno 250 Practice 1 Speeds From Daytona.

  1. Reed Sorenson
  2. Brian Ickler
  3. Jason Leffler
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Carl Edwards
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Michael Annett

The Nascar Nationwide Series will have two more practice sessions Thursday at Daytona, along with Sprint Cup Series practice. The Subway Jalapeno 250 will be held at Daytona on Friday night, starting at 7:30pm ET on ESPN.


Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices