Creature Vs. Creature Writers Pool: Results After The Heath Calhoun 400

Kelly CrandallSenior Writer IMay 2, 2010

RICHMOND, VA - MAY 01:  Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 M&M's Toyota, celebrates with the trophy in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Crown Royal Presents the Heath Calhoun 400 at Richmond International Raceway on May 1, 2010, 2010 in Richmond, Virginia.  (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)
Chris Trotman/Getty Images

It was domination from start to finish by Kyle Busch, with a little uncertainty thrown in the middle.

Busch started from the pole and lead the first 143 laps before giving way to Jeff Gordon. From there Gordon and Jeff Burton became the cars to beat as Busch slid backwards and seemingly out of contention. 

The No. 18 team was just waiting for the right time to strike. And on the last restart Busch went right by Gordon with his four fresh tires and back to victory lane. It was his first win with crew chief Dave Rogers, first since August of last year, and second straight at Richmond.

Busch's teammate, Denny Hamlin, had a very uncharacteristic night. He's usually the one dominating, but Hamlin struggled right off the truck this past weekend and ran between 10th and 15th most of the night. At the end he was able to come home with an 11th place finish by he never led a lap.

Neither did Jimmie Johnson, a three-time winner Richmond. Johnson and crew chief Chad Knaus were heard over the radio not sure what to do in order to fix their racecar. In the end Johnson went sliding across the finish line for a 10th place finish, but he lost his point lead to Kevin Harvick.

Thanks to Kyle Busch, our Creatures losing streak is over. Three of them collected their second win of the season and 10 more bonus points for when the Chase starts. Here's how they'll look when we roll into Darlington next Saturday night.

Kara Martin (1,446 ) Kyle Busch won (2 )

Kelly Crandall (1.351 ) Denny Hamlin finished 11th (0 )

Sal Sigala Jr. (1,330 ) Denny Hamlin finished 11th (0 )

Billy Fellin (1,326 ) Kyle Busch won (2 )

Christopher Leone (1,305 ) Kyle Busch won (2 )

Dustin Parks (1,292 ) Denny Hamlin finished 11th (1 )

David Yeazell (1,254 ) Jimmie Johnson finished 10th (0 )

Patti Rodisch (1,182 ) Jeff Gordon finished second (0 )

Rob Tiongson (1,170 ) Clint Bowyer finished 12th (0 )

James Broomhead (1,167 ) Denny Hamlin finished 11th (1 )

Misan Akuya (1,095 ) Tony Stewart finished 23rd (0 )

Adam Heasley (792 ) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 32nd (0 )

Next Up

Another Saturday Night race, but this one won't be easy. The Lady in Black is waiting in Darlington, and has been ready to snack on drivers that let their guard down. Kyle Busch won this race back in 2008 and is looking for two-in-a-row. 

Creatures have your picks in for the Showtime Southern 500 by Thursday, May 6th at 7 p.m. ET.