NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2017: Full List of Nominees Released

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2017: Full List of Nominees Released
Josh Hedges/Getty Images

The 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees have been released and include 11 drivers, eight crew members or owners and one journalist.

NASCAR on NBC shared a picture of the 20 nominees:

Five of the nominees are new to the list and include famed team owner Jack Roush and four-time Camping World Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday, per Kenny Bruce of

The other new hopefuls include former premier series driver Ricky Rudd, engine builder Waddell Wilson and Ken Squier, whose announcing and broadcasting career spanned more than six decades.

2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductees
Name Contribution
Buddy Baker Nineteen career premier series wins
Red Byron NASCAR's first strictly stock champion
Richard Childress Won 105 premiers series wins; six championships as an owner
Ron Hornaday Most career Truck Series titles (51)
Alan Kulwicki Won premier series title in 1992 as an owner/driver
Mark Martin Forty premier series wins, 49 Xfinity Series and seven in Trucks
Hershel McGriff Four-time winner based on the West Coast
Benny Parsons Former premier series champion, was also a broadcaster
Larry Phillips Five NASCAR national Weekly Series titles and seven regionals
Ricky Rudd Twenty-three premier series wins over three decades
Mike Stefanik Seven-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion
Name Contribution
Ray Evernham Won three premier series titles as crew chief for Jeff Gordon
Harry Hyde Helped guide Bobby Isaac to the 1970 premier series title
Waddell Wilson Engines took drivers to more than 100 premier series victories
Name Contribution
Ray Fox Won 14 times as an owner (also a crew chief)
Rick Hendrick Hendrick Motorsports organization has won 11 premier series titles and 240 races
Raymond Parks First team owner to win strictly stock championship
Jack Roush Earned 135 Sprint Cup victories as well as two series championships
Robert Yates Engine builder and championship winning team owner (57 wins)
Name Contribution
Ken Squier Part of the first crew to call the Daytona 500 live in 1979


Roush, 73, has one of the most recognizable names in the sport. In addition to the 135 Sprint Cup wins and two championships, four of his team's drivers have combined to win five Xfinity Series titles. 

NASCAR Hall of Fame Executive Director Winston Kelley tweeted his congratulations to Roush and the other newcomers following the announcement:  

Rudd was one of the more popular names during his time on the track and found success under multiple team owners, per Bruce.

"One of the top road racers of his generation, Rudd scored NASCAR wins for some of the sport's top team owners, including Richard Childress, Bud Moore and Rick Hendrick," Bruce wrote. "Winning the 1997 Brickyard 400 was notable as Rudd managed the feat as an owner/driver."

Hornaday won truck series titles in 1996, 1998, 2007 and 2009, per Bruce, and deserved the nomination, according to NASCAR communications executive Owen Kearns:

Wilson, who also won 19 races as a crew chief, had the honor of heading three crews that won the Daytona 500. 

Squier, 80, began announcing races when he was 12 years old in the 1940s, per Bruce, and continued until his retirement in 2014.

Hall of Fame Nominating Committee members will meet on May 25 to discuss who they'll put in front of a voting panel, which consists of 14 media members, former drivers, crew chiefs, owners, the reigning Sprint Cup Series champion and a fan vote on

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.