Singapore Sundown Marathon 2014: Route, Course Map, Times, Event Details

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Singapore Sundown Marathon 2014: Route, Course Map, Times, Event Details
Suhaimi Abdullah/Getty Images

Singapore's Sundown Marathon has arrived for the 2014 edition, and the race known throughout the world for its unique nature will take over the spotlight—in the dark—once again.

Rather than waking up at dawn to run the 26.2-mile marathon or having it last until late in the afternoon, sprinters will take off just before the clock hits midnight and compete well into the wee hours of the morning. It's a new kind of challenge for these racers, but the nature of the event also provokes plenty of intrigue around the area on top of those challenges as it's one of the only races of its kind. 

The full marathon isn't the only event runners can participate in throughout the night, as there's a 10-kilometer race for individuals or a team on top of the traditional half-marathon. 

Let's break down everything you need to know about the 2014 Singapore Sundown Marathon.

 

Where: F1 Pit Building to Singapore Flyer in Singapore

When: Saturday, May 31 at 10:30 a.m. EDT

 

Complete Start Times

10 kilometers – May 31 at 10:30 a.m. EDT, 10:30 p.m. SGT

Half-marathon – May 31 at 12:30 p.m. EDT, June 1 at 12:30 a.m. SGT

Full marathon – May 31 at 11:30 a.m. EDT, 11:30 p.m. SGT 

All times courtesy of the race's official site and displayed in both Eastern (EDT) and Singapore (SGT) time

 

Route and Course Map

Photo courtesy of SundownMarathon.com

Starting out at the F1 Pit Building, racers will run on miles of highway before crossing the Kallang Basin and going around some of the main attractions in the area, such as the indoor stadium and a golf course.

After reaching the halfway mark, runners will cross over the marina and around the marina bay. When those who are able to finish the 26.2-mile trek get close to the line, their hours of darkness will be welcomed by a giant Singapore Flyer Ferris wheel to signal the end of the race. 

Note: For half-marathon and 10-kilometer race routes, click here.

 

Weather

Singapore Weather (per Weather.com)
Date High/Low Chance of Rain Wind
Saturday, May 31 84/79 80 percent SSW 8 mph
Sunday, June 1 85/79 90 percent S 8 mph

Source: Weather.com

There is a high chance of rain during the race according to Weather.com, which predicts thunderstorms and a 80 percent chance of precipitation on Saturday. The chances for rain only get worse on into Sunday, as it improves to 90 percent. 

It's not looking to be too windy with winds of eight miles per hour, but slick surfaces and constant rain would still make for less-than-ideal conditions for the Sundown Marathon. 

 

Other Details

A great marathon needs two things to thrive for years and years: a competitive following of athletes and an overall experience that makes participating in it not only worthwhile, but a memorable time. The Sundown Marathon has both. 

The Sundown Marathon was the first of its kind in Asia to take place at night, and that is perhaps the biggest reason why the race is thriving more than ever in its seventh year. It has even expanded to Malaysia, which is hosting its own midnight race later in June. 

The top three finishers in each of the Sundown Marathon events will be awarded a crystal trophy as well as cash and gift prizes totaling up to $2,500 for first place. The prizes (separated into a men's category and a women's category for most of the events) run all the way down to fifth place for the full marathon, which will rake in a hard-earned $100. 

But it's not about the prizes or the money in competing in Singapore's Sundown Marathon. Instead, it's about coming out for the experience and making the most of one of the world's truly unique community-wide events.

Note: All information courtesy of the race's official site unless otherwise noted.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds