Tiger Woods drops after his previous shot hit the flagstick and bounced into the water on the 15th hole in the second round at the 2013 Masters.
Tiger Woods won five times last year, earned a gazillion dollars and had three scrapes with rules infractions that created plenty of buzz throughout the golf world.
The first took place in the Abu Dhabi Championship where an errant drive found a cluster of bushes. He found his ball and determined after a discussion with his partner that he was entitled to a free drop. Later it was ruled he wasn't entitled to that drop and was penalized two strokes.
The second was at the Masters, where his approach shot hit the flagstick on the 15th hole and caromed into the water. Woods dropped his next ball a couple yards further from the hole to get a better yardage measurement. That was ruled to be against the rules, and he was hit with a two-shot penalty the next day.
The final came at the Players Championship. Coming down the stretch in Sunday's round, Woods pulled his tee shot into the water that parallels the 14th fairway on the left. He and his partner determined where the ball crossed the hazard, which happened to be about 250 yards off the tee. Woods took a one-shot penalty, but raised a lot of eyebrows because it wasn't more.
Woods has played hardly at all in 2014,and it's been very quiet on the front.