Copa Claro 2014: Daily Scores, Results and Schedule

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Copa Claro 2014: Daily Scores, Results and Schedule
Victor R. Caivano/Associated Press

The 2014 Copa Claro was the third stop on the ATP Tour’s Latin America trip, and the clay surface of the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club was the perfect backdrop for the exciting tournament.

No. 1 seed David Ferrer defeated No. 2 seed Fabio Fognini in straight sets, 6-4, 6-3, to win the tournament championship.

The Argentinean haven for tennis had been dominated by native sons over the years, with nine of the 12 Copa Claro tournaments being won by an Argentine player. Former champions Juan Monaco and Nicolas Almagro led a star-studded field into the marquee tournament.

Not only was there a plethora of former champions in the field, but bona fide stars like Ferrer, Fognini and Tommy Robredo also added to the competition with their elite play and mainstream notoriety.

Ferrer spoke about playing in the 2014 event before it began, per "I'm happy to confirm that I will play Copa Claro and I'm very glad to play again in front of Buenos Aires crowd."

Ferrer won his third career Copa Claro trophy against arguably the deepest field in years.


*Statistics courtesy of ATP World Tour website.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.