Australian Open 2014 TV Schedule: How to Watch Season's 1st Grand Slam Event

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Australian Open 2014 TV Schedule: How to Watch Season's 1st Grand Slam Event
Presse Sports-USA TODAY Sports

The first Grand Slam of the tennis season is upon us. The 2014 Australian Open is sure to provide hours of spectacular action and set the table for another thrilling year of professional tennis.

The defending champions on both the men's and women's side of the bracket are back, but they aren't the No. 1 seeds.

Novak Djokovic captured the 2013 crown, but he is the No. 2 seed in the tournament this year behind Rafael Nadal. 

Victoria Azarenka won the women's crown last year, but Serena Williams is the top-seeded woman in Melbourne. You can see the entire draw, per AusOpen.com, by clicking here.

Here's a look at the TV schedule for the event, per AusOpen.com.

Date Time (ET) Event Network
Sun, Jan 12 7 p.m. – 7 a.m. Early Round Action ESPN2
Mon, Jan 13 9 p.m. – 7 a.m. Early Round Action ESPN2
Tue, Jan 14 9 p.m. – 7 a.m. Early Round Action ESPN2
Wed, Jan 15 9 p.m. – 7 a.m. Early Round Action ESPN2
Thurs, Jan 16 11 p.m. – 7 a.m. Early Round Action ESPN2
Fri, Jan 17 9 p.m. – 7 a.m. Early Round Action ESPN2
Sat, Jan 18 9 p.m. – 2 a.m. Round of 16 ESPN2
Sun, Jan 19 3 a.m – 6 a.m. Round of 16 ESPN2
  9 p.m. – 2 a.m. Round of 16 ESPN2
Mon, Jan 20 3 a.m. – 6:30 a.m. Round of 16 ESPN2
  9 p.m – 2 a.m. Quarterfinals ESPN2
Tue, Jan 21 3 a.m. – 5:30 a.m. Quarterfinals ESPN2
  9 p.m. – 2 a.m. Quarterfinals ESPN2
Wed, Jan 22 3:30 a.m. – 6 a.m. Quarterfinals ESPN2
  9:30 p.m – 2 a.m. Women’s Semifinals ESPN2
Thurs, Jan 23 3:30 a.m. – 6 a.m. Men’s Semifinal No. 1 ESPN
Fri, Jan 24 3:30 a.m. – 6 a.m. Men’s Semifinal No. 2 ESPN
Sat, Jan 25 3 a.m. – 5:30 a.m Women’s Final ESPN
Sun, Jan 26 3 a.m. – 6:30 a.m. Men’s Final ESPN

 

Date Time (ET) Event Network
Mon, Jan. 13 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. First-round play Tennis Channel
Tues, Jan. 14 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Second-round play Tennis Channel
Weds, Jan. 15 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Second-round play Tennis Channel
Thurs, Jan. 16 7 p.m. – 11 p.m. Third-round play Tennis Channel
Fri, Jan. 17 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Third-round play Tennis Channel
Sat, Jan. 18 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Round of 16 Tennis Channel
Sun, Jan. 19 7 p.m – 9 p.m. Round of 16 Tennis Channel
Mon, Jan. 20 7 p.m. – 9 p.m. Round of 16/Quarterfinals Tennis Channel
Tues, Jan. 21 3 a.m. – 5:30 a.m. Quarterfinals Tennis Channel
Weds, Jan. 22 7 p.m. – 9:30 p.m. Quarterfinals/Men’s doubles semis Tennis Channel
Thurs, Jan. 23 11 p.m. – 3 a.m. Mixed doubles semis/Women’s doubles final Tennis Channel
Sat, Jan. 25 5:30 a.m. – 7:30 a.m Men’s doubles final Tennis Channel
Sun, Jan. 26 12 a.m. – 2 a.m. Mixed doubles final Tennis Channel

 

Can the Top Seeds Get It Done?

Novak Djokovic Must Overcome an Old Nemesis

Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Djokovic has won the last three Aussie Opens, but Nadal finished 2013 on a hot streak. The latter's two Grand Slam titles (French Open and U.S. Open) vaulted him back to the No. 1 ranking in the sport.

The two could be headed for another epic meeting in the final. Their next meeting will be the 40th of their careers. Nadal leads the head-to-head record at 22-17. However, Djokovic has won the last two meetings.

He also won the last match that they had at the Australian Open, when he came out on top in a five-set classic over Nadal in the 2012 final. Fans can only hope this year's tournament creates another finale like the one we saw two years ago.

 

Will Serena Williams Stop Azarenka's Run?

Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

Over the last two years, Williams has won every Grand Slam except the Australian Open. Azarenka has hoisted the trophy both times in Melbourne. 

Williams has reclaimed the title of best in the world in the women's side, but can she knock Azarenka off her perch?

A serious rivalry exists between the two women. Williams has dominated Azarenka for the most part. She holds a 15-3 edge in the head-to-head battle and has also won all three Aussie Open meetings between them.

That said, Azarenka has made it tough for Williams lately. Two of her three wins over Williams came in 2013, and three of the matches had to be settled in three sets. No Challenges Remaining echoes my sentiments:

Williams was asked why she was still playing the game at the age of 32 with 17 Grand Slam titles. She told Greg Garber of ESPN (via ABC News), "I can't stop. I love being out there. I love competing. It gives me something to do. For me, it's just about motivating myself and trying to reach new goals."

There isn't a better way to begin the Grand Slam season than with a Williams-Azarenka final.

 

Follow me. Sports are what I do.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Tennis

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.