Adam Scott, Inbee Park and Kenny Perry Win 2013 GWAA Awards

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Adam Scott, Inbee Park and Kenny Perry Win 2013 GWAA Awards
Ross Kinnaird/Getty Images
Adam Scott won the Masters and was named GWAA Male Player of the Year.

The Golf Writers Association of America (GWAA) has announced that Adam Scott was voted the Male Player of the Year, as reported by the Associated Press (h/t Scott’s four world-wide victories, including the 2013 Masters, earned him the award over Tiger Woods by just five votes.

Even though Woods won five PGA Tour titles and was named PGA Tour Player of the Year, the GWAA gave extra credit for Scott’s wins late in the year.

Scott won both the Masters and The Barclays on the PGA Tour. He added two wins in Australia late in the year and teamed with Jason Day to win the World Cup for Australia at Royal Melbourne in November.  He finished off 2013 with a runner-up finish to Rory McIlroy at the Australian Open.

The vote was not nearly as close for Female Player of the Year, as Inbee Park collected over 91 percent of the 220 votes cast. Park won six titles on the LPGA Tour in 2013 including the first three majors of the season.

Gregory Shamus/Getty Images
Inbee Park won three consecutive major titles in 2013.

She won the Kraft Nabisco in March and added the LPGA Championship and the U.S. Women’s Open in June. Under extreme media attention, she slipped to a T-42 finish in the Women’s British Open in July but was the leading money earner on the LPGA Tour. Thus, she was named LPGA Tour Player of the Year.

It was a historic year for the 25-year-old from South Korea. Only Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan, Babe Zaharias and Tiger Woods have won three consecutive major titles in a single season.

Park now has nine career LPGA Tour wins and moved past Stacy Lewis early in 2013 to assume the No. 1 spot on the Rolex Rankings.

Ezra Shaw/Getty Images
Kenny Perry won the Charles Schwab Cup last season.

Kenny Perry was named Senior Player of the Year by the GWAA. He won two majors, the Senior Players Championship in June and the U.S. Senior Open in July, on the Champions Tour in 2013.

Perry had previously struggled to finish off major championships, finishing as runner-up in the 1996 PGA Championship and the 2009 Masters.

The 2009 Masters was extremely painful, as he made bogeys at both the 17th and 18th holes in the final round on Sunday to lose.

Perry also won the AT&T Championship on the Champions Tour in October and won the Charles Schwab Cup.

He is 53 years old and has always been a late-bloomer—11 of his 14 career PGA Tour victories came after his 40th birthday.

All three of these players plus the top golf writers of 2013 will be recognized at the annual GWAA Awards Dinner held on Wednesday, April 9, in Augusta, Georgia.

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.