The Greatest NASCAR Driver from Each Decade

« Prev
1 of 13
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
The Greatest NASCAR Driver from Each Decade
Dale Earnhardt and Jeff Gordon dominated the 1990s.

Since the birth of NASCAR in 1949, the sport has seen a large number of stars grace its race tracks. In the early days, drivers like Herb Thomas and Lee Petty dominated the sport, while today, Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart are the top-tier drivers.

From the sport's beginnings all the way through to today, every decade has its stars. Some of these drivers are multi-time champions, and all boast an impressive resume full of wins.

But which driver was truly the best in each decade? Which pioneer can claim to be the best of the '50s? Was it Pearson or Petty who dominated the '60s? And how about the '90s? Is it Earnhardt or Gordon who takes the top spot?

In the slides ahead, I will take a look at each of NASCAR's first six decades and, once and for all, pinpoint which driver was the best of the bunch.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.