Mocking the NFL Draft: Who Will Be This Year's Biggest Bust?

Max IasconeSenior Analyst IApril 17, 2008

Well, after looking at this year's particularly weak draft class, I can draw but one conclusion for the '08 draft, this year's first round is going to have more flops than a one on one game between Bill Laimbeer and Vlade Divac.

That said, it's one thing to not live up to expectations, but , whether it's Dave Klingler, Ki-Jana Carter, or Akili Smith, (well you get the idea) every NFL draft brings with it the kind of epic bust that goes down NFL history. Which is why I've decided to give an award to the biggest bust taken by the Bengals (errr, the NFL) each year.

So, without further adieu, here are the three finalists for the first annual Ki-Jana Carter award, given to the biggest potential flop in each draft. First off, we have Jake Long, who is looking more like Robert Gallery every day. Next, Matt Ryan, whose fools'-golden arm could cost him a shot at greatness despite his intangibles. And finally, there's the broken calf waiting to happen, Darren McFadden.

And this year's Ki-Jana Carter memorial (he isn't dead but his career was DOA) trophy goes to... Darren McFadden!. And the crowd goes wild! (unless that crowd is full of Jets fans)

Where should I start with this guy? Well, his legs are skinnier than Paris Hilton, it's a wonder his leg hasn't come flying off in a game in 4 years, it'll happen just you wait, and it won't be pretty.

Also, at 6'2" 211 lbs, the man has the body of a pop-warner cheerleader, someone had to say it and it looks like that someone is me. Then again, that may have been a good thing since the holes he ran through in college were as big as Kirstie Alley.

Perhaps most importantly, the guy is a f#@!ing Reggie Bush clone, he might as well put on a Saints jersey and start dating Kim Kardashian, nobody would know the difference.

Good luck to whatever team rolls the dice on Run DMC, they'll need it.

That's all folks, be sure to tune in for next year's ceremony, where Tim "Mr.CFL" Tebow and Ryan "Britney Spears" Perrilloux will battle it out for the honor of going home with the Ki-Jana Carter award.