Lords of the Ringless: Wide Receiver Edition

SportsLiferCorrespondent IIApril 10, 2009

FOXBORO, MA - DECEMBER 21: Randy Moss #81 of the New England Patriots watches the finals moments of a win against the Arizona Cardinals at Gillette Stadium on December 21, 2008 in Foxboro, Massachusetts. (Photo by Jim Rogash/Getty Images)

Here’s the latest in the Lords of The Ringless series, a litany of losers featuring wide receivers who have never won a championship—Super Bowl, NFL, or AFL.

The team nobody wants to join includes four Hall of Famers—Steve Largent, Charley Taylor, James Lofton, and Charlie Joiner—and a host of receivers who rank in the top 20 in the major statistical categories—career receptions, touchdowns, yardage and yards per reception.

And perhaps most surprisingly, two of the top three players on this list—Randy Moss and Terrell Owens—are still active. Both have come close, Moss with the Patriots in Super Bowl XLII and Owens with the Eagles in Super Bowl XXXIX.

But close doesn’t count with Lords of The Ringless.

Ringless Wide Receivers

1. Randy Moss: 1998-present, Vikings, Raiders, Patriots—third all-time in touchdowns with 135, including record 23 in 2007; 15th all-time in receptions with 843, ninth in yardage with 13,201; led NFL in TDs, 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2007; Offensive Rookie of the Year, 1998.

 2. Steve Largent: 1976-89, Seahawks—Ranks sixth all-time in touchdown receptions with 100; Hall of Famer ranks 17th in career catches with 819; led NFL in receiving yards in 1979 and 1985; seven time Pro Bowler; 1998 Walter Peyton Award winner.

3. Terrell Owens: 1996-present, 49ers, Eagles, Cowboys, Bills—second all-time in touchdowns with 139, trails only former teammate Jerry Rice (197); fifth in yardage with 14,122 and 6sixth in receptions with 951; TO has been named first team All-Pro five times.

4. Cris Carter: 1987-2002, Eagles, Vikings, Dolphins—Stands third all-time with 1,101 receptions; fourth with 130 touchdowns; seventh in yardage with 13,899; eight-time Pro Bowler; led NFL receivers in TDs 1995, 1997, 1999; Walter Payton Award winner in 1999.

5. Charley Taylor: 1964-77, Redskins—started career as halfback before moving to split end; ranks 19th all-time with 79 touchdowns; led league in receptions in 1976 and 1977; eight-time Pro Bowler; inducted into Hall of Fame in 1984

6. Andre Reed: 1985-2000, Bills, Redskins—Tied with TO for sixth in all-time receptions with 951; 11th with 87 touchdown grabs; and 10th in yardage with 13,198; played in four straight Super Bowls with Buffalo; seven-time Pro Bowler.

7. James Lofton: 1978-93, Packers, Raiders, Bills, Rams, Eagles—Stands sixth all time in yardage with 14,004; led league in yards per reception in 1983 and 1984; made Pro Bowl eight times; NFL Hall of Fame.

8. Tim Brown: 1988-2004, Raiders, final year with Tampa Bay—fourth in receptions with 1,094; tied for sixth in TDs with Steve Largent at 100; third in yardage with 14,934; led league in receptions in 1987 with 104; Heisman Trophy winner at Notre Dame in 1987

9. Charlie Joiner: 1969-86, Oilers, Bengals, Chargers — 65 regular season touchdowns ranks 40th all-time; three-time Pro Bowler; retired as NFL’s all-time receiving leader; member of NFL Hall of Fame.

10. Irving Fryar: 1984-2000, Patriots, Dolphins, Eagles, Redskins—Ranks 13th all-time in receptions with 851; five-time Pro Bowler was drafted No. 1 overall by New England in 1984; 14th overall in TDs with 84.

Honorable Mention

Bobby Mitchell: 1958-68, Browns, Redskins—Hall of Fame flanker; led NFL in receptions and reception yardage in 1962.

Henry Ellard: 1983-98, Rams, Redskins, Pats—eighth all-time in yardage with 13,777; 19th in receptions with 814.

Warren Wells: 1964-70, Lions, Raiders—All-time leader in yards per reception with 23.1; caught 42 TDs in brief five-year career.

Others Lords of The Ringless

Quarterback Edition

Running Back Edition

Baseball Edition

Hoops Edition