2012 WTA Championship: Ranking the Elite 8 Women's Field in Istanbul

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2012 WTA Championship: Ranking the Elite 8 Women's Field in Istanbul
Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

The WTA Year-End Championship will begin on Oct. 23 in Istanbul at the Sinan Erdem Dome.

The tour moved the event to Istanbul in 2011 where it is slated to remain until 2013.

The top eight women of 2012 have qualified for the field in Istanbul. Additionally, the top four doubles teams will also be in action vying for top honors.

The WTA Championship was initially held in Boca Raton on outdoor clay courts. Istanbul became the 10th locale since the year-end tournament began.

Martina Navratilova won the WTA title most often—emerging with the trophy on eight occasions. Steffi Graf followed with five titles, and Chris Evert triumphed four times.

The eight women will be drawn into two groups where they will play a round robin format. During the first four days, each player meets the other three players in her group.

In cases where players end the round robin matches with equal records, WTA rules define the tie-breaking measures that apply.

The two players out of each group with the best record advance to the semifinals. There the top player in one group plays the second best player from the other group. Accordingly, the winners of each semifinal contest advance to the final.

In 2011 Petra Kvitova won the WTA Championship defeating Victoria Azarenka 7-5, 4-6, 6-3.

Kvitova, who made the field again in 2012, will try to recapture her title. The Czech will, however, be forced to play perfect tennis to win against such a loaded field.

These eight ladies are at their peak after excellent seasons, and each would love to close it out by winning in Istanbul.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.