Novak Djokovic Tops the Past 10 Champions at Indian Wells

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Novak Djokovic Tops the Past 10 Champions at Indian Wells
Jeff Gross/Getty Images

Things are definitely heating up on the men's tour as the players head toward the California desert and the BNP Paribas Open, a Masters Series 1000 Tournament. 

Held annually at the picturesque Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, the setting features 12 courts laid out in the warm California sun. The site is beautiful—one of tennis fans' favorites. The premiere tennis tournament attracts the top players from the men’s and women’s tours.

The tournament’s roots go back to 1976, sporting numerous name changes as sponsors rose and fell.

The popular tennis tournament, however, had its beginning at its current Indian Wells locale in 1987.

Boris Becker won the inaugural men’s tournament at Indian Wells in 1987 defeating Stefan Edberg in the final, 6-4, 6-4, 7-5.

Following shortly upon the heels of the Australian Open, the one-two punch of Indian Wells and Miami, closes the early American hard-court season, ushering in the upcoming clay season.

To date, only three players in the tournament’s history have won the event more than twice–Americans Jimmy Connors (pre-Indian Wells), and Michael Chang who won the event in 1992 and then consecutively in 1996-1997.

Roger Federer is the only player to have won the tournament three consecutive times from 2004-2006.

The question looming on the horizon remains–who will win the men's single title in 2012?

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.