IndyCar: Ryan Hunter-Reay Powers To Front in Long Beach

Sandra MacWattersCorrespondent IApril 19, 2010

LONG BEACH - APRIL 18:  Ryan Hunter-Reay of the USA, driver of the #37 Team Izod Andretti Autosport Dallara Honda, celebrates his victory with 3rd place Will Power of Australia, driver of the #12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara Honda, and 2nd place Justin Wilson of England, driver of the #22 Dreyer & Reinbold Racing Team Z-Line Designs Dallara Honda, during the IndyCar Series Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on April 18, 2010 in Long Beach, California. (Photo by Donald Miralle/Getty Images)
Donald Miralle/Getty Images

Ryan Hunter-Reay drove to a win for Andretti Autosport at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach.  He was the first American to win at the prestigious race since his boss, Michael Andretti in 2002.

The 85-lap race on the 1.968-mile course was quick with only one full course caution.  Justin Wilson made contact with the rear wheel of Alex Tagliani's car, as he was unable to make a clean pass on the lapped car.

Despite taking more time than expected to swap out the damaged front wing for a new one, Wilson's Z-Line Designs car powered back to finish second.

The course in Long Beach is considered the premier open-wheel street race.  Hunter-Reay, a former California resident, was thrilled to take his IZOD car to a win in his fourth race.

Will Power, the points leader and pole sitter, finished in third position.

Danica Patrick remained near the rear of cars on the lead lap.  She finished 14th after qualifying in 20th place.  She is presently 16th in the point standings.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

If Danica is to improve her performance perhaps it will be when she returns to oval racing at the Road Runner Turbo Indy 300 at Kansas Speedway on May 1.

The time of the race was 1:47:12 with an average speed of 93.619.  There were five lead changes and five caution laps.