X

Premier League Week 29 Fixtures: EPL Picks and Predictions

Gianni Verschueren@ReverschPassFeatured ColumnistMarch 2, 2020

LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND - MARCH 01: Bruno Fernandes of Manchester United celebrates with teammates after scoring his team's first goal during the Premier League match between Everton FC and Manchester United at Goodison Park on March 01, 2020 in Liverpool, United Kingdom. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)
Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

The derby clash between Manchester United and Manchester City at Old Trafford will take centre stage in Week 29 of the 2019-20 Premier League season.

Leaders Liverpool can take another step towards the title against Bournemouth, and Chelsea and Everton meet in a match that carries major European implications.

Arsenal host West Ham United, and Tottenham Hotspur visit Burnley. Leicester City and Aston Villa will close out the action on Monday.

          

Saturday, March 7

  • Liverpool 2-0 Bournemouth: 12:30 p.m. GMT/7:30 a.m. ET

  • Arsenal 2-1 West Ham United: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

  • Crystal Palace 1-1 Watford: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

  • Sheffield United 1-0 Norwich City: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

  • Southampton 2-2 Newcastle United: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

  • Wolverhampton Wanderers 1-1 Brighton & Hove Albion: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

  • Burnley 1-1 Tottenham Hotspur: 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET

Sunday, March 8

  • Chelsea 1-1 Everton: 2 p.m. GMT/9 a.m. ET

  • Manchester United 1-3 Manchester City: 4:30 p.m. GMT/11:30 a.m. ET

Monday, March 9

  • Leicester City 2-1 Aston Villa: 8 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET

       

United enter the week in fifth place in the standings, three points behind Chelsea and tied with Wolverhampton Wanderers.

A 1-1 draw away to Everton on Sunday was not the ideal way to prepare for second-place City, who beat Aston Villa in the Carabao Cup final:

City have all but secured second place, sitting seven points ahead of Leicester with a match in hand. With a two-year UEFA ban looming―barring a successful appeal―their primary focus will be on the UEFA Champions League last-16 second-leg tie with Real Madrid, but the derby is always a highlight of the season.

Kevin De Bruyne started on the bench at Wembley Stadium on Sunday and could be in line for more rest in the midweek FA Cup tie at Sheffield Wednesday.

Sergio Aguero is also likely to get a rest after he came off late in the League Cup with a minor knock. If it lingers, he could be held out of the derby completely with an eye on the March 17 meeting with Madrid.

The Red Devils are unbeaten in their last four league outings and have received a major boost in form from January signing Bruno Fernandes:

Manchester United @ManUtd

Watford 🎯 Club Brugge 🎯 Everton ⚽ It’s been quite the week for @B_Fernandes8 💫 #MUFC https://t.co/uUzTw5gn46

Everton's European hopes have taken a hit in the last two weeks, but they remain in the running, sitting five points behind fifth-place United. The Toffees could turn the race for the top four on its head with a win at Stamford Bridge against a Chelsea team out of form.

The Blues have just one win in their last six league outings and struggled to a 2-2 draw against Bournemouth in Week 28.

Injuries have been a major issue for head coach Frank Lampard:

Nizaar Kinsella @NizaarKinsella

No time frame on returns for Pulisic or Abraham. Tammy has been to Barcelona for a specialist opinion. Loftus-Cheek could play with U23s tomorrow. Selection problems continue https://t.co/sHfEc6gV2i #CFC

Arsenal are tied with Everton on points after winning their last two league games. A visit from lowly West Ham provides another great opportunity to add three points, which could put the Gunners level with north London rivals Spurs.

Tottenham have lost two in a row in the league and visit Burnley, who are unbeaten in their last six Premier League matches.

🚨 SPORTS NEWS ➡️ YOUR INBOX

The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.