X

Premier League Week 19 Fixtures: EPL Picks and Predictions

Gill Clark@@gillclarkyFeatured Columnist IIDecember 23, 2019

DOHA, QATAR - DECEMBER 21: Juergen Klopp, Head Coach of Liverpool greets the supporters after the FIFA Club World Cup Final Match between Liverpool FC and CR Flamengo at Khalifa International Stadium on December 21, 2019 in Doha, Qatar. (Photo by MB Media/Getty Images)
MB Media/Getty Images

Liverpool return to Premier League action on Boxing Day at Leicester City following their triumph at the FIFA Club World Cup.

The Reds are yet to taste defeat in the top flight in 2019-20 and another victory would see them move 13 points ahead of the Foxes with a game in hand.

Elsewhere, champions Manchester City face a tricky trip to Molineux to take on Wolverhampton Wanderers, while Mikel Arteta takes charge of Arsenal for the first time at Bournemouth.

New Everton manager Carlo Ancelotti makes his bow as Toffees boss at home to Burnley, Manchester United host Newcastle United and Tottenham Hotspur face Brighton & Hove Albion.

         

Week 19 Fixtures and Picks

Thursday, December 26

Tottenham Hotspur 3-1 Brighton & Hove Albion: 12:30 p.m. GMT/7:30 a.m ET

Bournemouth 1-2 Arsenal: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Aston Villa 1-1 Norwich City: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Chelsea 2-2 Southampton: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Crystal Palace 1-0 West Ham United: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Everton 1-1 Burnley: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Sheffield United 1-0 Watford: 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Manchester United 2-2 Newcastle United: 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET

Leicester City 1-3 Liverpool: 8 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET

          

Friday, December 27

Wolverhampton Wanderers 2-3 Manchester City: 7:45 p.m. GMT/2:45 p.m. ET 

       

Leicester City vs Liverpool

First plays second at the King Power Stadium on Boxing Day when Leicester boss Brendan Rodgers hosts former side Liverpool in a Christmas cracker of a fixture.

The Foxes have enjoyed a superb 2019-20 campaign but were brought down to earth by champions Manchester City in a 3-1 defeat last time out.

Striker Jamie Vardy has been key to Leicester's success and scored his 17th Premier League goal of the season against the Citizens:

Leicester City @LCFC

1⃣7⃣ @Vardy7 1⃣1⃣ Abraham 1⃣1⃣ Aubameyang 1⃣1⃣ Ings 1⃣0⃣ Rashford City's No.9 extended his lead in the race for the Golden Boot yesterday 👟

Yet Rodgers has warned he will have to rest his in-form striker over the festive period due to the club's busy schedule.

Leicester play Liverpool, West Ham United and Newcastle in the Premier League and Wigan Athletic in the FA Cup, and Rodgers has told reporters there is "no chance" Vardy will play all four games.

Liverpool will be boosted by their victory at the Club World Cup where they lifted the trophy for the first time in their history by beating Flamengo in the final:

Liverpool FC @LFC

The Reds basked in the history-making feeling after securing a first ever FIFA #ClubWC title on Saturday night 💪

Manager Jurgen Klopp told reporters after the match his team were "kind of exhausted" by their efforts in Qatar, and the hosts will hope to take advantage of any signs of fatigue from the visitors.

          

Bournemouth vs. Arsenal

Another new era begins at Arsenal on Thursday when Arteta takes charge of the Gunners for the first time since being appointed permanent manager.

The Gunners are down in 11th place in the table after a disappointing start to the campaign and were held to a goalless draw by Everton on Saturday.

Arteta has already made it clear what he wants from his team:

Arsenal @Arsenal

Intelligent. Honest. Direct. 🔴 His love for Arsenal ⚽️ His attacking philosophy ➕ Much, much more @m8arteta's first interview as our new head coach 👇

Arsenal may fancy their chances against a Bournemouth side that has been hit by injury and won only one of their last seven Premier League games:

PhysioRoom.com @physioroom

Joshua King suffered an ankle sprain at Stamford Bridge last time out while Eddie Howe reveals Andrew Surman is struggling due to a calf complaint. Not expecting any returners from those sidelined. Up to nine missing for Sat. 🚑 @PremierInjuries https://t.co/L30wun62vW #AFCB

Yet Eddie Howe's side have enjoyed success against some of the Premier League's big names this season.

The Cherries beat Manchester United 1-0 at the start of November and ran out winners by the same scoreline at Stamford Bridge against Chelsea in December.

Arsenal have won only three of nine games away from home in 2019-20, but the arrival of Arteta may give them the boost needed to see off an understrength Cherries team.