British Open 2019: Tee Times, Live Stream and TV Schedule Listings

Rob Blanchette@@_Rob_BFeatured ColumnistJuly 17, 2019

Brooks Koepka of the United States speaks at a press conference ahead of the start of the British Open golf championships Royal Port Rush in Northern Ireland, Tuesday, July 16, 2019. The British Open starts Thursday. (AP Photo/Matt Dunham)
Matt Dunham/Associated Press

The 2019 British Open begins on Thursday at the Royal Portrush Golf Club in Northern Ireland.

Rory McIlroy will be chasing his second Open title, with the competition taking place in his home country.

Brooks Koepka should be McIlroy's biggest threat at the championship, but a host of top names are ready to challenge for the final major of the year, including Tiger Woods.

            

Date: Thursday, July 17

Time: 6:30 a.m. BST, 1:30 a.m. ET

TV: Sky Sports (UK), NBC Sports (U.S.), Golf Channel (U.S.)

StreamSky Go (UK), NBC (U.S.), Golf Channel App (U.S.)

               

Notable Tee Times

6:35 a.m. BST, 1:35 a.m. ET: Darren Clarke, James Sugrue, Charley Hoffman

7:52 a.m. BST, 2:52 a.m. ET: Phil Mickelson, Shane Lowry, Branden Grace

9:58 a.m. BST, 4:58 a.m. ET: Francesco Molinari, Bryson DeChambeau, Adam Scott

10:09 a.m. BST, 5:09 a.m. ET: Rory McIlroy, Gary Woodland, Paul Casey

1:04 p.m. BST, 8:04 a.m. ET: Brooks Koepka, Louis Oosthuizen, Shubhankar Sharma 

1:26 p.m. BST, 8:26 a.m. ET: Jordan Spieth, Danny Willett, Marc Leishman

2:48 p.m. BST, 9:48 a.m. ET: Justin Rose, Tony Finau, Lucas Bjerregaard

2:59 p.m. BST, 9:59 a.m. ET: Dustin Johnson, Jason Day, Keegan Bradley

3:10 p.m. BST, 10:10 a.m. ET: Tiger Woods, Matt Wallace, Patrick Reed

3:21 p.m. ET, 10:21 a.m. ET: Jon Rahm, Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar

Full tee times are available at the Open's official website.

                   

Preview

US golfer Brooks Koepka plays a shot on the 11th fairway during a practice session at The 148th Open golf Championship at Royal Portrush golf club in Northern Ireland on July 16, 2019. (Photo by ANDY BUCHANAN / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE        (P
ANDY BUCHANAN/Getty Images

Koepka has dominated the big competitions over the past two years and has won four of the past nine majors.

The world No. 1 has proved to the most dangerous competitor in the top fields of play, but he's yet to win the Open.

The 29-year-old has not placed better than sixth at the event, and the links challenge in Northern Ireland will test the American to the maximum.

Koepka spoke ahead of the championship and explained his focus and motivation to succeed, per Sky Sports Golf:

McIlroy has a unique advantage over Koepka and Co. this year, with the Open taking place at a course he knows well.

The Northern Ireland star played Portrush during his formative years as a budding golfer, and he is familiar with every facet of the Dunluce links setup

Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy plays the 3rd hole during a practice session at The 148th Open golf Championship at Royal Portrush golf club in Northern Ireland on July 17, 2019. (Photo by ANDY BUCHANAN / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE        (Photo c
ANDY BUCHANAN/Getty Images

According to BBC Sport, McIlroy spoke about growing up in Northern Ireland and the potential legacy of this year's tournament:

"In golfing terms, I think its legacy could be young boys and girls are keen to pick a golf club up and play."

"Golf is an accessible sport here. I'm fortunate that I grew up here because it was so accessible and you didn't have to come from money or anything to play the game."

"No matter what happens this week, if I win or whoever else wins, having The Open back in this country is a massive thing for golf and it will be a massive thing for the country."

US golfer Tiger Woods takes part in a press conference at The 148th Open golf Championship at Royal Portrush golf club in Northern Ireland on July 16, 2019. (Photo by ANDY BUCHANAN / AFP) / RESTRICTED TO EDITORIAL USE        (Photo credit should read ANDY
ANDY BUCHANAN/Getty Images

The field is packed with talent, and Woods will naturally garner much of the attention from fans and the press.

The 43-year-old won his fifth U.S. Masters in April but struggled to display his best at the U.S. Open. The legend has said he is short of practice before the action begins on Thursday, and if he cannot produce his best, he will find it difficult to stay with the players at the top of the leaderboard.

Related

    Live Leaderboard: The CJ Cup

    Golf logo
    Golf

    Live Leaderboard: The CJ Cup

    Pga
    via Pga

    The Challenge: Japan Skins 2019 Odds, Prize Money, Live Stream and TV Schedule

    Golf logo
    Golf

    The Challenge: Japan Skins 2019 Odds, Prize Money, Live Stream and TV Schedule

    James Dudko
    via Bleacher Report

    Tiger's Back Again...but Is He Really Ready?

    Golf logo
    Golf

    Tiger's Back Again...but Is He Really Ready?

    Bob Harig
    via ESPN.com

    Which 4 Will Tiger Choose for Presidents Cup team?

    Vote now 🗳️

    Golf logo
    Golf

    Which 4 Will Tiger Choose for Presidents Cup team?

    Straw Poll
    via Straw Poll