Preakness 2018 Post Positions: Latest Odds, Historical Stats for Each Slot

Joe Tansey@JTansey90Featured ColumnistMay 18, 2018

BALTIMORE, MD - MAY 17: Good Magic gallops in preparation for the Preakness at Pimlico Race Course on May 15, 2018 in Baltimore, Maryland (Photo by Scott Serio/Eclipse Sportswire/Getty Images)
Eclipse Sportswire/Getty Images

Trying to select the winner of the 2018 Preakness Stakes based solely off post position may be a hard task. 

Each of the eight starting slots used for Saturday's second leg of the Triple Crown produced a bevy of champions in the 142-year history of the Preakness. 

Six different post positions produced champions in each of the last six years, while one spot possesses two winners this decade. 

Below is a look at the historical stats for each of the eight starting positions occupied in Saturday's race in Baltimore. 


Post Positions and Odds (via OddsShark)

1. Quip (+1400; Bet $100 to win $1,400) 

2. Lone Sailor (+2000) 

3. Sporting Chance (+4000) 

4. Diamond King (+2000) 

5. Good Magic (+325) 

6. Tenfold (+3300) 

7. Justify (-225; Bet $225 to win $100)

8. Bravazo (+1800) 


Historical Stats For Each Slot

No. 1

Post No. 1 hasn't produced a ton of winners in recent years, but the one champion to come from that position since the turn of the century made history, as American Pharoah started from the inside post at Pimlico on his way to the Triple Crown in 2015. 

Before American Pharoah, Tabasco Cat in 1994 was the last horse from post No. 1 to find his way into the winner's circle. 

Quip, who has the third-best odds to win Saturday's race, is looking to become the 11th Preakness winner from the inside starting slot.


No. 2 

Twelve winners have come from post No. 2, including 2017 champion Cloud Computing. 

Matt Slocum/Associated Press

Last year's victory by the Chad Brown-trained horse ended a drought that dated back to 1986, when Snow Chief advanced to the winner's circle. 

Although post No. 2 produced back-to-back winners in the past, it's hard to imagine that will be the case in 2018 with Lone Sailor starting there.


No. 3

2014 Preakness champion California Chrome is the most recent winner from post No. 3.

In the 1980s, post No. 3 was the lucky position to begin the race from, as Codex (1980), Deputed Testamony (1983), Gate Dancer (1984) and Risen Star (1988) reeled off one of the most successful runs for a single post position. 

It's unlikely the 13th champion from the third starting spot emerges Saturday, as longshot Sporting Chance lines up there. 


No. 4

Red Bullet in 2000 and Curlin in 2007 are the most recent Preakness champions from post No. 4, where Diamond King begins the race Saturday. 

While it's been one of the most successful starting spots with 13 winners, post No. 4 has two first-place finishers since 1993. 

The last back-to-back winners produced by a post position came from No. 4 in 1991 and 1992, when Hansel and Pine Bluff were crowned champions, respectively. 


No. 5

Recent history is on the side of Good Magic entering the second leg of the Triple Crown. 

Post No. 5 is the only starting spot to produce multiple winners this decade, as Shackleford won in 2011 and Exaggerator took first in 2016. 

As the top challenger to Justify, Good Magic, who took second at the Kentucky Derby, has a legitimate chance to make it three winners in eight years from post No. 5


No. 6

One of the few things going in favor of Tenfold this week is his starting position. 

The horse with the second longest odds in the field of eight horses begins the race from the most successful post position in Preakness history, as 15 winners came from that spot. 

Big Brown (2008) and Oxbow (2013) are the recent winners from post No. 6, and it also hosted Triple Crown winners Omaha and Affirmed. 


No. 7

If Justify dominates the field once again, he'd become the first horse since Lookin At Lucky in 2010 to win the Preakness from post No. 7. 

Two of trainer Bob Baffert's Preakness winners came from post No. 7, with 1997 champion Silver Charm joining Lookin At Lucky in that category. 

Since 1989, six horses won from post No. 7, including Sunday Silence and Summer Squall back-to-back in 1989 and 1990, Timber Country in 1995 and Smarty Jones in 2004. 


No. 8 

Post No. 8 acts as the outside starting slot for Saturday's race, but it isn't as unlucky as the outside spots at the Kentucky Derby. 

If Bravazo pulls off an upset, he'd join 2002 champion War Emblem and 2006 winner Bernardini as Preakness success stories this century from post No. 8. 

The most famous champion from post No. 8 is Seattle Slew, who went on to win the Triple Crown in 1977. 


Follow Joe on Twitter, @JTansey90.

Statistics obtained from Preakness.com.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.