X

Premier League Week 35 Fixtures: EPL Picks and Predictions

Christopher Simpson@@CJSimpsonBRFeatured ColumnistApril 17, 2018

NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, ENGLAND - APRIL 15: Rafa Benitez head coach / manager  of Newcastle United during the Premier League match between Newcastle United and Arsenal at St. James Park on April 15, 2018 in Newcastle upon Tyne, England. (Photo by Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images)
Robbie Jay Barratt - AMA/Getty Images

After a day off on Friday, the Premier League will resume once again on Saturday in Week 35 of the 2017-18 season.

Liverpool will be in action at West Bromwich Albion, while Watford host Crystal Palace. On Sunday, champions Manchester City entertain Swansea City and Arsenal do the same against West Ham United, while Stoke City welcome high-flying Burnley.

Everton take on an impressive Newcastle United side at Goodison Park on Monday night.

Here is the complete schedule, including score predictions for each game:

                 

Saturday, April 21

12:30 p.m. BST/7:30 a.m. ET: West Brom vs. Liverpool (1-3)

3 p.m. BST/10 a.m. ET: Watford vs. Crystal Palace (1-2)

                

Sunday, April 22

1:30 p.m. BST/8:30 a.m. ET: Arsenal vs. West Ham United (2-0)

1:30 p.m. BST/8:30 a.m. ET: Stoke City vs. Burnley (0-1)

4:30 p.m. BST/11:30 a.m. ET: Manchester City vs. Swansea City (2-1)

                                    

Monday, April 23

8 p.m. BST/3 p.m. ET: Everton vs. Newcastle United (1-1)

                 

Stoke City vs. Burnley

Burnley's 2-1 win over Leicester City in their last outing was their fifth victory in a row, and they're now just two points behind Arsenal with five games remaining.

The Clarets play host to Chelsea on Thursday, but even if they were to lose that match—which is far from guaranteed given their current formthey should carry plenty of momentum into their clash with Stoke.

Sean Dyche's side are particularly strong at the back, as Squawka Football demonstrated:

Squawka Football @Squawka

Burnley have conceded 29 goals in the Premier League this season; only Man City and Man Utd (both 25) have conceded fewer. European football on the horizon. https://t.co/MTYVHmAsWa

Meanwhile, Stoke have scored just eight goals since Paul Lambert took charge in January, two of which were in his first game in charge.

Former Premier League star Chris Sutton was highly critical of the Potters after their 1-1 draw with West Ham United on Monday, per BBC 5 live Sport:

BBC 5 live Sport @5liveSport

"Berahino has been a disgrace" "Reports Jese likes a nightclub or two" "It stinks of relegation" @chris_sutton73 says some Stoke players have "downed tools". https://t.co/rCw0KWpCFV #WHUSTK https://t.co/9TpwPziycB

Despite being the home side, it's difficult to see Stoke breaching Burnley's excellent defence given their struggles going forward. They also have the worst defensive record in the division having shipped 64 goals, so the visitors have an excellent chance here.

                           

Everton vs. Newcastle United

After a run of four consecutive wins, Newcastle find themselves just one point behind Everton with a game in hand.

The Chronicle's Mark Douglas hailed the Magpies after their 2-1 win over Arsenal on Sunday:

Mark Douglas @MsiDouglas

Great to see what is happening at #nufc at the moment. Fans kept the faith through dark pre-Christmas run because they believed. Didn't turn on players/manager and rewarded with results. This is the hardest working side I've seen in a decade covering #nufc.

By contrast, the Toffees are without a victory in their last three and appear to be stumbling towards the finish line under manager Sam Allardyce.

Per sports correspondent James Corbett, the former England manager's impact on their results since taking charge has been minimal:

James Corbett @james_corbett

That extra 0.06 points per game equals 2 extra draws over the course of an entire season. #livingthedream

Writer Paul Brown also painted an uninspiring picture of Allardyce's reign prior to their 1-1 draw with Swansea on Saturday:

Paul Brown @pbsportswriter

#SWAEVE - the shots on target derby: "Since Sam Allardyce took charge a #efc, the Toffees have had 57 shots on target in the Premier League - the only team with fewer in that period are Swansea, with 51 efforts on goal."

Newcastle have a good chance of picking up at least a point here given the two teams' respective form, though the Toffees do boast the best home record outside the top six.

As such, a fifth victory in a row could be a big ask even for the in-form Magpies.

🚨 SPORTS NEWS ➡️ YOUR INBOX

The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.