EPL Predictions: Picks, Top Players for Week 24 Premier League Fixtures

Tom Sunderland@@TomSunderland_Featured ColumnistJanuary 16, 2018

LONDON, ENGLAND - JANUARY 10: Alexis Sanchez of Arsenal during the Carabao Cup Semi-Final First Leg match between Chelsea and Arsenal at Stamford Bridge on January 10, 2018 in London, England. (Photo by Catherine Ivill/Getty Images)
Catherine Ivill/Getty Images

Week 24 of the Premier League campaign will be Manchester City's first attempt at recovering from a defeat this season, having fallen just short in their comeback in Sunday's 4-3 loss at Liverpool.

The Citizens now lead Manchester United by 12 points after the Red Devils defeated Stoke City 3-0 on Monday, and Jose Mourinho's men could cut the gap further if they can win at Burnley on Saturday.

Liverpool's slim title hopes have been rejuvenated after their win against City lifted them back into the top three, and they face Swansea City on Monday hoping to build on that momentum.

Newcastle United are unbeaten in three games and next face Pep Guardiola's leaders on Saturday evening, while Arsenal will seek to beat Crystal Palace for the second time in the space of three weeks.

Read on for a preview of the Premier League Week 24 schedule, complete with discussion of which key players to keep an eye on.

       

Premier League Week 24 Predictions

Saturday, January 20

Brighton & Hove Albion 0-2 Chelsea, 12:30 p.m. GMT/7:30 a.m. ET

Burnley 1-2 Manchester United, 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Everton 2-1 West Bromwich Albion, 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Leicester City 3-2 Watford, 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Arsenal 1-0 Crystal Palace, 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Stoke City 1-1 Huddersfield Town, 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

West Ham United 2-2 Bournemouth, 3 p.m. GMT/10 a.m. ET

Manchester City 4-2 Newcastle United, 5:30 p.m. GMT/12:30 p.m. ET

         

Sunday, January 21

Southampton 1-2 Tottenham Hotspur, 4 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET

             

Monday, January 22

Swansea City 0-3 Liverpool,  8 p.m. GMT/3 p.m. ET

      

Alexis Sanchez

Depending on how swiftly the respective parties can come to a conclusion, Alexis Sanchez could play for any one of three clubs in Week 24: Arsenal, Manchester City or Manchester United.

Sky Sports reported on Monday that United are willing to pay Sanchez more than £350,000 per week and could send Henrikh Mkhitaryan in the opposite direction. ESPN's Alex Shaw noted other factors are at play:

Marca contributor Chris Winterburn voiced his belief Sanchez's fate would be decided by midweek, potentially giving him enough time to settle before making a quick debut should he leave the Emirates Stadium:

Having been left out of Arsenal's squad for Sunday's defeat to Bournemouth, it seems likely he won't be named for Saturday's visit of Palace, meaning a trip north looks more than plausible regardless of which club is his destination.

City play at home to Newcastle, while United—who are in far greater need of the winger's talents—make the short trip to Burnley and could look to show off a player whose arrival would signal a major coup.

      

Adrien Silva

A start for Leicester at home to Watford on Saturday may still be too soon for Adrien Silva, the recruit from Sporting CP who made his debut in a four-minute cameo against Huddersfield Town on New Year's Day.

The Portugal midfielder spoke hopefully of the vision he holds for his time at Leicester, and there's little doubt he can provide an addition in quality that could help propel the Foxes up the Premier League standings:

Silva made 237 appearances for Sporting and earned regular experience in the UEFA Champions League before moving to the King Power Stadium, and he'll line up against some elite-standard peers under Claude Puel.

Watford have lost their last four away league games in succession, and head coach Marco Silva's midfield of Ben Watson, Abdoulaye Doucoure and Tom Cleverley has gaps to be exploited.

A full Premier League debut could signal the beginning of Silva's rebirth since becoming eligible to register for Leicester in January, as he aims to help the Foxes to their second win in three matches.

Related

    Ronaldo: Other Players Go to China at My Age

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Ronaldo: Other Players Go to China at My Age

    Rory Marsden
    via Bleacher Report

    World Cup Stars Heading for Major Transfers

    World Football logo
    World Football

    World Cup Stars Heading for Major Transfers

    Dean Jones
    via Bleacher Report

    B/R's Alternative Awards for the World Cup

    World Football logo
    World Football

    B/R's Alternative Awards for the World Cup

    Sam Tighe
    via Bleacher Report

    Mbappe Donating World Cup Earnings to Charity

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Mbappe Donating World Cup Earnings to Charity

    Rory Marsden
    via Bleacher Report