Richard Wright and the 6 Least Deserving Premier League Winners

Ryan Bailey@ryanjaybaileyFeatured ColumnistMay 12, 2014

Richard Wright and the 6 Least Deserving Premier League Winners

0 of 6

    Matthew Lewis/Getty Images

    It may be hard to contemplate, but we all live in a world where Richard Wright has two Premier League winners' medals.

    The 36-year-old goalkeeper earned his first in 2000-01, when he made 12 appearances for Arsenal, including a game against Charlton when he punched the ball into his own net.

    Since then, the Premier League scrapped its 10 appearances rule, meaning Wright was able to "do a John Terry" and collect a winners' medal in full kit with Manchester City on Sunday, despite not playing a single game for the club. 

    Here's six other players who somehow earned a winners' medal...

Jack Rodwell

1 of 6

    Scott Heppell/Associated Press

    Since joining Manchester City in August 2012 for £12 million, Jack Rodwell has made only a handful of appearances.

    In 2013-14, the midfielder started just one Premier League game and made four substitute appearances totalling around 22 minutes of playing time.

    Despite this bit-part role, he still collected a medal on Sunday. 

Michael Owen

2 of 6

    JON SUPER/Associated Press

    In 2010-11, Michael Owen made one league start for Manchester United against Sunderland, but only lasted until half-time. He also made 10 substitute appearances and scored two goals in a season in which the Red Devils won the league by nine points.

    The former England star just scraped enough appearances to earn his first league winners' medal. To be fair, the 2001 Ballon d'Or winner was good enough to earn the medal in his prime, but his contribution in 2010-11 was peripheral at best.

Luke Chadwick

3 of 6

    Jamie McDonald/Getty Images

    In five seasons at Manchester United, Luke Chadwick managed only 25 total appearances.

    In 2000-01, the midfielder picked up a medal for helping the Red Devils to glory with 10 substitute appearances, a record that highlights the fact that he simply wasn't very good. 

    But still, he has one more winners' medal than Steven Gerrard.

Darren Ferguson

4 of 6

    Steve Morton/Getty Images

    There's nothing quite like a spot of nepotism to boost one's career.

    Alex Ferguson's son Darren filled in for Bryan Robson for Manchester United's first 15 games of the 1992-93 season, but dreadful form left the title contenders in seventh position at the start of November. 

    Ferguson Jr didn't play again after November, at which point the team's form miraculously picked up, and they won the league for the first time in 26 years.

Remi Garde

5 of 6

    Stu Forster/Getty Images

    Remi Garde joined Arsenal in August 1996 on the same day as fellow Frenchman Patrick Vieira. Garde wasn't quite as integral as his countryman, however, making a total of 45 appearances over three seasons for the Gunners.

    In 1997-98, he made just 10 appearances—four as a substitute—to narrowly qualify for the hallowed medal.

Jiri Jarosik

6 of 6

    Phil Cole/Getty Images

    Jiri Jarosik was brought in from CSKA Moscow by Chelsea in January 2005 to aid the Blues' push toward the title.

    However, it soon became apparent that the Czech midfielder wasn't quite up to the standard of the champions-elect and made only three starts and 11 substitute appearances before picking up his medal in May 2005.  

    Follow me on Twitter @RyanJayBailey