Alex Cora: Nathan Eovaldi Was 'Going to Give Us One Inning' in Game 4 vs. Astros

Timothy Rapp@@TRappaRTFeatured Columnist IVOctober 20, 2021

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS - OCTOBER 19: Nathan Eovaldi #17 of the Boston Red Sox is taken out of the game in the ninth inning of Game Four of the American League Championship Series against the Houston Astros at Fenway Park on October 19, 2021 in Boston, Massachusetts. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)
Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

Boston Red Sox manager Alex Cora called on Game 2 starter Nathan Eovaldi to pitch the top of the ninth inning in Game 4 of the American League Championship Series on Tuesday night, with the score knotted at 2-2.

The result was not pretty. Eovaldi took the loss after giving up two hits, two walks and four runs, part of a seven-run outburst by the Houston Astros that resulted in a 9-2 victory. The series is now tied at two games apiece.


.<a href="https://twitter.com/J_Castro15?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@J_Castro15</a> gets the big hit! <a href="https://t.co/4LuUqJaroB">pic.twitter.com/4LuUqJaroB</a>


Brantley breaks it open! <a href="https://t.co/EMCJ890q3X">pic.twitter.com/EMCJ890q3X</a>

After the game, Cora explained his mindset in turning to the starting pitcher for the crucial inning.

"He was going to give us one inning and we felt that pocket was good for him," he told reporters.

While there will undoubtedly be questions about Cora's decision to turn to Eovaldi three days after he started and pitched 5.1 innings in Game 2, the bigger point of controversy following the gameโ€”especially in Bostonโ€”was home-plate umpire Laz Diaz appearing to miss a strike-three call in Jason Castro's at-bat that would have ended the inning, with the game still tied. 

Adam Kaufman @AdamMKaufman

That's game. This "ball" led to Nate Eovaldi being charged four runs and the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RedSox?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RedSox</a> dropping Game 4. Should've been tied, going to the bottom of the ninth. <a href="https://t.co/zjOIOX7oHd">pic.twitter.com/zjOIOX7oHd</a>

Jeff Passan @JeffPassan

Home-plate umpire Laz Diaz has missed 21 ball-strike calls tonight, according to <a href="https://twitter.com/ESPNStatsInfo?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ESPNStatsInfo</a>. That is the most of any umpire this postseason. The green dot in the upper RH corner is the Eovaldi curveball that would've ended top of the ninth with the score 2-2.<br><br>It is now 9-2. <a href="https://t.co/VzdyL4lth3">pic.twitter.com/VzdyL4lth3</a>

Zachary D. Rymer @zachrymer

Laz Diaz has had a wide zone all game, but somehow this was a ball. <a href="https://t.co/5agFBDGe2f">pic.twitter.com/5agFBDGe2f</a>

"I've got to take a look," Cora told reporters after the game about the controversial call. "... A lot of people thought it was a strike."

"I thought it was a strike," Eovaldi added.

NBC Sports Boston @NBCSBoston

Nathan Eovaldi on missed strike three call: "I thought it was a strike... felt like I made a good pitch on the outside corner" <a href="https://t.co/dSg2U4eUS9">pic.twitter.com/dSg2U4eUS9</a>

Granted, it was Eovaldi who gave up a double to Carlos Correa to open the inning, and after intentionally walking Yuli Gurriel, it was Eovaldi who gave up the game-winning single to Castro and then walked Jose Altuve.

No, he didn't give up the three-run double to Michael Brantley. That distinction belonged to Martin Perez. But Eovaldi was responsible for all three runs. Bad call or not, he still struggled Tuesday night.

Cora and the Red Sox won't have much time to lick their wounds, with Game 5 at Fenway Park at 5:08 p.m. ET on Wednesday.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.