Big Ten Misses the Mark With Logo, Division Names

David ThurmanCorrespondent IDecember 13, 2010

LINCOLN, NE  Ð  JUNE 11:  Big Ten Conference Commissioner James Delany (C), flanked by (L) University of Nebraska Athletic Director Tom Osbourne and Chancellor Harvey Pearlman (R) inform members of the media that the university has accepted an invitation to join the Big Ten Conference  June 11, 2010 in Lincoln, Nebraska.  The university will begin integration immediately and start athletic competition as soon as 2011. (Photo by Eric Francis/Getty Images)
Eric Francis/Getty Images
What's worse...the logo or the divisional names? (H/T
The Big Ten finally released the new logo and divisional names for the conference. The logo, designed by Pentagram, leaves a little to be desired. I guess the big appeal with this design is that it has some flexibility and the "Big" can be read as "B10."
As many have pointed out on Twitter though, it looks more like "B16."
On top of that, this is something I could have designed with my limited Adobe skills, so I am not impressed. Compared to the new Pac-10/Pac-12 logo, this logo makes the conference look pretty lame.

As for the divisional names, the conference chose "Leaders" and "Legends." Here was Jim Delany's comment on why the conference selected this to represent the divisions:

“‘Legends’ is a nod to our history and to the people associated with our schools who are widely recognized as legendsstudent-athletes, coaches, alumni and faculty. ‘Leaders’ looks to the future as we remain committed to fostering leaders, the student-athletes who are encouraged to lead in their own way for the rest of their lives, in their families, in their communities and in their chosen professions,” said Delany. “We’re proud of our many legends and even prouder of our member institutions that develop future leaders every day.”

This whole idea is very cheesy and trying way too hard if you ask me. I don't understand why they couldn't have stuck to geography terms or something very simple. This is obviously the product of a bunch of 66-year olds sitting around trying to be creative. They outthought themselves, though, and missed the mark badly.

Delany also announced that the conference will now have 18 new trophies to award at the end of each season. They decided to continue the "leaders" and "legends" theme, naming the trophies after some of the most prominent figures from the past.
In fact, each trophy has two names of those being honored that are separated by a hyphen.  For instance the championship game trophy is named the Stagg-Paterno Trophy and the championship game MVP will be awarded the Grange-Griffin Trophy.
Overall, I like how they have honored the past, even though they were very politically correct in what figures they used.

You can check out all the trophies here.