ESPY Awards 2021: Date, Host, TV Schedule, Awards List and More

Kristopher Knox@@kris_knoxFeatured ColumnistJuly 8, 2021

Host Drake at the ESPY Awards at the Nokia Theatre on Wednesday, July 16, 2014, in Los Angeles. (Photo by John Shearer/Invision/AP)
John Shearer/Associated Press

Last year's ESPY Awards came as a welcome reprieve for sports fans during a time when sporting events were few and far between. The 2021 ESPYs should take on a brighter tone and will welcome back fans to the live event.

The 2021 ESPY Awards will be broadcast from The Rooftop at Pier 17 at the Seaport in New York City and will be hosted by acclaimed actor and producer Anthony Mackie. While the ESPYs are an entertaining event to honor multiple athletes, teams and sporting moments, they will also be used to increase awareness for the V Foundation for Cancer Research among other causes.

ESPN said in a press release:

"Per tradition, The 2021 ESPYS will also showcase the achievements of inspiring and courageous athletes who embody the spirit of The ESPYS through three pillar awards—the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage, the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance, and The Pat Tillman Award for Service. The show supports ESPN's ongoing commitment to The V Foundation for Cancer Research, launched in 1993 by ESPN in partnership with the late Jim Valvano."

Fans can tune into the ESPYs at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday.


2021 ESPY Awards

When: Saturday, July 10

Time: 8 p.m. ET

Where: The Rooftop at Pier 17 at the Seaport, New York City

TV and Live Stream: ABC, ESPN App


Major Awards and Nominees

Best Athlete, Women's Sports

Simone Biles, Gymnastics

Amanda Nunes, UFC

Naomi Osaka, Tennis

Breanna Stewart, Seattle Storm


Best Athlete, Men's Sports

Tom Brady, Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Lewis Hamilton, F1

Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets

Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers


Best Breakthrough Athlete

LaMelo Ball, Charlotte Hornets

Crystal Dangerfield, Minnesota Lynx

Justin Herbert, Los Angeles Chargers

Chase Young, Washington Football Team


Best Game

NCAA men's basketball Final Four: Gonzaga vs. UCLA

NCAA women's basketball championship: Stanford vs. Arizona

NFL Week 14: Baltimore Ravens vs. Cleveland Browns

NHL playoffs: Winnipeg Jets vs. Edmonton Oilers


Best Team

Tampa Bay Buccaneers, NFL

Stanford Cardinal, NCAA Women's Basketball

Baylor Bears, NCAA Men's Basketball

Alabama Crimson Tide, NCAA Football

Oklahoma Sooners, NCAA Softball

Seattle Storm, WNBA

Los Angeles Dodgers, MLB


Best Play

Arizona Cardinals: Kyler Murray Hail Mary to DeAndre Hopkins

Gymnastics: Simone Biles becomes first woman to land Yurchenko double pike vault

Marshall Men's Soccer: Jamil Roberts' overtime goal to win championship

Seattle Seahawks: DK Metcalf chases down Budda Baker in Week 7


Arthur Ashe Award for Courage

This year's Arthur Ashe Award for Courage will be given to WNBA star and Olympic gold medalist Maya Moore, who is being recognized for her work and commitment to criminal justice reform. Moore stepped away from basketball in 2019 to campaign for justice for Jonathan Irons, a man wrongly convicted of burglary and assault.

"In the face of injustice, the courage to care about justice, human dignity and freedom is now able to be celebrated in this momentous way and I'm so happy for Jonathan and all who helped contribute to this victory," Moore said, per ESPN's Isabelle Lopez.


Jimmy V Award for Perseverance

During the ESPY Awards, triathlete Chris Nikic will be recognized with the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance. In 2020, Nikic became the first person with Down syndrome to complete an Ironman triathlon.

The 21-year-old finished a 2.4-mile swim, a 112-mile bike ride and a 26.2-mile marathon run at the Ironman Florida competition in Panama City Beach under the 17-hour cutoff time.

"As a Special Olympics ambassador, I represent millions of athletes around the world who can now believe that inclusion is real for all of them," Nikic said, per Lopez. "Thank you for me, but more importantly for the Down syndrome community and my fellow Special Olympics athletes."

Nikic is also a nominee in the "Best Athlete with a Disability, Men's Sports" category.


Pat Tillman Award for Service

This year's Pat Tillman Award for Service will be awarded to professional boxer Kim Clavel.

Clavel, who holds a 13-0 record and who holds the WBC-NABF flyweight title, returned to nursing amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

"Just as Pat put his NFL career on hold to serve his country, I felt the same duty to serve my community," Clavel said, per ESPN's Grace Coryell. "Although recently I have pursued my dream of boxing, helping people is my passion and I'm proud to be able to make a difference."


For a full list of awards, nominees and fan voting, fans can visit ESPN.com.