Tracy McGrady, Bill Self Highlight 2017 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class

Adam Wells@adamwells1985Featured ColumnistApril 1, 2017

HOUSTON, TX - OCTOBER 30:  Former Houston Rocket Tracy McGrady acknowledges the crowd during a game between the Charlotte Bobcats and Houston Rockets at Toyota Center on October 30, 2013 in Houston, Texas. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement.  (Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images)
Bob Levey/Getty Images

The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 2017 inductees Saturday, with seven-time NBA All-Star Tracy McGrady and Kansas Jayhawks head coach Bill Self headlining the 11-person class. 

Here's the full list of the inductees, per ESPN.com:

2017 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Inductees
Tracy McGrady, Player7x NBA All-Star, 2x NBA Scoring Champion
Bill Self, Coach2008 National Championship (Kansas Jayhawks)
Rebecca Lobo, Player1995 National Championship (UConn), 1996 Olympic Gold Medal
Muffet McGraw, Coach2001 National Championship (Notre Dame)
Robert Hughes, CoachWinningest Boys High School Coach in History (1,333 Victories)
Jerry Krause, Executive6x NBA Champion (Chicago Bulls)
George McGinnis, Player2x ABA Champion (Indiana Pacers)
Nikos Galis, Player8x Greek League Champion, 5x Greek League MVP
Zack Clayton, PlayerMember of the Harlem Globetrotters
Mannie Jackson, PlayerMember of the Harlem Globetrotters
Tom Jernstedt, ExecutiveFormer NCAA Vice President, "Father" of the Final Four
Source: ESPN.com

The ceremony will be Sept. 8.                

"I couldn't believe it," McGrady said upon receiving the news, per the Basketball Hall of Fame on Twitter. "I had him repeat it again."

"I didn't win a championship," McGrady said, per Mark Berman of Fox 26. "I didn't have much playoff success, but this is my championship and it'll be forever"

McGrady was one of the NBA's elite scorers during his peak years. He led the league in points per game during the 2002-03 and 2003-04 seasons with the Orlando Magic and was on seven straight All-Star teams from 2001 to 2007. 

Self has been one of the best coaches in college basketball for over two decades with Oral Roberts, Tulsa, Illinois and Kansas, compiling a 623-192 record. His teams have made the NCAA tournament every season since 1999, with his Jayhawks winning a national championship in 2008.

Krause, who died on March 21, was the architect of the Bulls teams that won six titles from 1991 to 1998.

Thelma Krause, Jerry's wife, told K.C. Johnson of the Chicago Tribune how proud her family is of her late husband. 

"I am so sorry that Jerry didn't live long enough to hear that he made the Hall of Fame," she said. "We are all very proud of him. He wanted this especially for the grandchildren. This is a great achievement. It is gratifying that all his hard work and accomplishments are being recognized and that he will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame."

Lobo is a decorated player who won a a national championship at Connecticut in 1995 and a gold medal with Team USA at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta. She was part of the WNBA's inaugural season in 1997 with the New York Liberty and an All-Star in 1999. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.