Germany Becomes 1st European Team to Win World Cup in Americas

Bleacher Report MilestonesB/R StaffJuly 15, 2014

Team captain Philipp Lahm celebrates with his teammate during a fan party after the arrival of the German national soccer team in Berlin Tuesday, July 15, 2014. Germany beat Argentina 1-0 on Sunday to win its fourth World Cup title.  (AP Photo/Petr David Josek)
Petr David Josek/Associated Press

With Sunday's 1-0 defeat of Argentina in the World Cup final, Germany became the first-ever European team to win a World Cup title in the Americas, per ESPN Stats & Info.

Nine of the 10 Cups held in Europe have been won by European sides, while each of the seven tournaments held in the western hemisphere had featured a South American winner, until Germany broke the streak on chance No. 8.

Brazil are the only non-European side with a title in Europe, having memorably dismantled the Swedish hosts by a score of 5-2 at the 1958 World Cup final in Solna, Sweden.

Only two World Cups have been held outside of Europe and the Americas, with South Korea and Japan serving as co-hosts in 2002, followed by South Africa in 2010.

Brazil took home the trophy in 2002 before Spain captured Europe's first World Cup title outside the continent in 2010.

Since Brazil's victory in '02, Europe has gone on an unprecedented run of dominance, becoming the first continent to capture three consecutive World Cups, per ESPN's Paul Carr.

Europe has now captured five of the last seven world titles, taking an 11-9 advantage over South America on the all-time continental ledger.

Of course, much to the chagrin of the rest of the world, no team from Africa, North America, Asia or Oceania has so much as played in a World Cup final.

Even in South America, the success has been extremely concentrated, with Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay the only teams from the western hemisphere to compete in a World Cup final.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.