Mike Weir, Mackenzie Hughes Named Co-Winners of 2022 Masters Par 3 Contest

Paul KasabianFeatured Columnist IIApril 6, 2022

Mike Weir, of Canada, tees off on the sixth hole during the Par 3 contest at the Masters golf tournament on Wednesday, April 6, 2022, in Augusta, Ga. (AP Photo/Charlie Riedel)
AP Photo/Charlie Riedel

Mike Weir and Mackenzie Hughes have been declared the co-winners of the Masters Par 3 Contest, which was cut short Wednesday because of inclement weather conditions at Augusta National Golf Club.

The pair of Canadians each shot four-under to lead the field. Larry Mize, Kevin Na and Cameron Davis finished tied for third at three-under.

Bernhard Langer and Si Woo Kim shot two-under. So did Joaquinn Niemann, although his day was cut short after just three holes.

Ultimately, Weir and Hughes emerged victorious.

The 51-year-old Weir is the 2003 Masters champion. He joined PGA Tour Champions in 2020.

The 31-year-old Hughes, ranked No. 58 in the world, finished tied for 15th at the 2021 U.S. Open before earning a T6 finish at the Open Championship.

Highlights from the contest included an ace from Jason Kokrak:

The Masters @TheMasters

The first ace of the day belongs to Jason Kokrak. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/themasters?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#themasters</a> <a href="https://t.co/OE0391L2oQ">pic.twitter.com/OE0391L2oQ</a>

Max Homa and Gary Player nearly joined him but just missed:

The Masters @TheMasters

Nearly a hole-in-one for Max Homa. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/themasters?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#themasters</a> <a href="https://t.co/y06PVDCQbf">pic.twitter.com/y06PVDCQbf</a>

The Masters @TheMasters

Only an inch shy of perfect. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/themasters?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#themasters</a> <a href="https://t.co/cryV64R4St">pic.twitter.com/cryV64R4St</a>

The shot of the day, though, may have been from Louie Oosthuizen, who was perpendicular to the hole on this gem.

The Masters @TheMasters

Perfectly read. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/themasters?src=hash&amp;ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#themasters</a> <a href="https://t.co/6dtyTN2jZH">pic.twitter.com/6dtyTN2jZH</a>

Now it's tournament time. Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player and Tom Watson will serve as the honorary starters Thursday before Jose Maria Olazabal and J.J. Spaun tee off at 8 a.m. ET.